cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

hmmm all google services are working for me
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

That is because you aren't on the duff gateway
This thread isn't for people to post that they don't have problems it is to flag up to Plusnet that they need to investigate
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

having info that it's not affecting everyone is useful though.
however, do we really need multiples threads for this?
as you've linked to 3 existing threads, why do we need this one as well?
surely one of the mods could do their job and merge those 3 threads, and this thread can be deleted as not required.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

Because in non of those threads has a member of staff got involved and it is very likely they weren't spotted
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

Wouldn't that be because the staff clock off at 9pm?
When it affects a business user then it may get priority.  Lips are sealed
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,680
Thanks: 665
Fixes: 166
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

Thanks all, I'm raising a problem to get this looked at. If anyone else sees it then it'd be good to know which gateway you're on and a trace to the site.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Nocturne
Grafter
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

Unable to bring up a number of sites this morning so re-booted the Router.
As the day progressed unable to bring up various sites.
I'm pretty sure for a while I got nowhere 'googling' for anything.
More recently Googled addons for Firefox and clicked on link that Google brought up
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/addon/greasemonkey/
with no success - response 'Firefox can't find the server at addons.mozilla.org.'
Same with other sites.
Sorry no idea which gateway I'm on.
Nocturne
Grafter
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

Router powered down overnight approx 9 hours.
Connected the Router this morning and noticed reference in another thread - on checking
Quote
'You are currently connected to gateway pcl-ag06.
This is located in City Lifeline House.'

Same problems with accessing Firefox Add ons.site - as per yesterday.
alanf
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-10-2007

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

Problems last night. Slowish.
Setting up Linux Mint on PC "Unable to Authenticate" updates. Anything to do with broadband issues?
Problems accessing Google and other sites.
Checked Service Status. Nothing shown.
Powered router down and up a couple of time. In the end I had no broadband service at all.
This morning things started a little slow then got back to normal. Now very slow again.
Internet banking hardly usable.
Still Service Status only shows planned maintenance work.
"You are currently connected to gateway pcl-bng01.
This is located in City Lifeline House."
http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/
Nocturne
Grafter
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

Per my post earlier today - now able to connect - everything seems to be back to normal
alanf
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-10-2007

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

Powered router off and on again after several minutes.
"You are currently connected to gateway pcl-ag07.
This is located in City Lifeline House."
Looking good on this gateway.
Update:Update: Spoke to soon. Some sites still giving problems. e.g.  tracert for www.nationwide.co.uk times out. Earlier ditto for www.metrobankonline.co.uk
Nocturne
Grafter
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache

Powered the Router down overnight and back up again this morning.
Unable to access any sites at all including http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/ ie gateway check, so don't know which Gateway I was on.
Not very familiar with 'Tracert' but from an old reference tried 'tracert 212.159.9.2' which appeared to complete but unlike several years ago no reference in the result to Plusnet simply a number of IP addressees.
Could post image if helpful.
Re-booted Router and everything appears back to normal.
PS: Like you 'Alanf' I spoke too soon yesterday.
Edit: Plusnet Service Status suggests that this issue is resolved so I will see how it goes over the next few days.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: There is something wrong with one of the Plusnet Gateways or Google cache