cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TG582N really only a 3 port router for fibre customers

stevenfayers
Not applicable
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎13-07-2013

TG582N really only a 3 port router for fibre customers

The page http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/hardware/ says that the TG582N is a 4 port router. But for fibre customers one is used for the WAN connection so 'usable' ports are reduced to 3.
6 REPLIES 6
picbits
Rising Star
Posts: 3,428
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: TG582N really only a 3 port router for fibre customers

Indeed - this has been discussed before but for less than a fiver you can get a 5 port switch which will then give you 7 total ports or for around £12 you can get an 8 port 10/100Mb switch (or a 5 Port Gigabit switch) which will give you even more ports.
w23
Pro
Posts: 6,344
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: TG582N really only a 3 port router for fibre customers

Don't forget, you loose a port on both the router and the switch so adding a 5-port switch to a 4 port router that only has 3 ports available actually gives 6 ports if I'm not mistaken:
Router: 4 ports - WAN port - port used to connect switch = 2 ports 'spare'.  Switch: 5 ports - port used to connect router = 4 ports 'spare'.  Total 6 ports available.
If you're likely to need more than 6 ports in total then may be better to start with an 8-port switch.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
picbits
Rising Star
Posts: 3,428
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: TG582N really only a 3 port router for fibre customers

My maths failed me this morning Sad  Grin
stevenfayers
Not applicable
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎13-07-2013

Re: TG582N really only a 3 port router for fibre customers

Apologies that it's been discussed before. I'm a plus net newbie.
I can get an 8 port switch, no problem. My comment is really about the page being a little misleading.
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,034
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: TG582N really only a 3 port router for fibre customers

and in that you are correct - it really needs sorting
chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: TG582N really only a 3 port router for fibre customers

It's something we're aware of and are looking to get this amended.