cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow Speeds and Other Issues

jab1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 2,281
Thanks: 620
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues

@dnpark38 - that can never happen, Virgin CABLE network is only available to Virgin CABLED customers, and if you, like me, aren't in such an area, then your only option is the BT/OpenReach network.

John
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues

I seem to recall BT only being BT but now they have others sharing, think they were made to open up their network.

So if force needed should be applied to Virgin.

I do have Virgin as a choice but they really charge high.

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
jab1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 2,281
Thanks: 620
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues

Understand what you mean dnpark38, but the Virgin cable network has to be available, and, in  many areas, it just isn't there - as in my case.

John
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,677
Thanks: 1,566
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues

There is also a difference in protocols, Virgin uses DOCSIS (v3.1) so additional hardware would be need to do any integration, assuming of course that Virgin were even interested in sharing their network with another party.

dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues

Government should make them open up.

OR need competition to wake them up into getting fibre out to us at home rather than half a mile away in a cabinet which are getting full.

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues

why should the government force them?
virgin are a private company and invested their own money to create their network.
why should they forced to let other companies piggy back on to that when those companies haven't invested anything.

openreach were forced to open up the network as they inherited a national "service" in privatisation.
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues

Government and EU all the time forcing things on the Media and communications companies to make things better for you and me.

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues

they can force monopolies to do certain things.
virgin is nowhere close to being a monopoly.

virgin is a private company.
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues


@chenks76 wrote:
.
virgin is nowhere close to being a monopoly.



Originally I think there were 13 or 18 cable companies same as TV regions but I thought all now owned by Virgin

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues

still doesn't make them a monopoly though.
look at their UK coverage map and you'll see why they could never be classed as a monopoly.
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,844
Thanks: 844
Fixes: 82
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues

UK Legal definition of a monopoly

In the UK, since it is market dominance which poses the threat to competition, (1) a monopoly is deemed to exist when one company controls at least 25% of the market;

Virgin's UK coverage is 50% of premises, although in 2016 Virgin only had 19% of the national market. Source http://media.ofcom.org.uk/facts/

So Virgin do have monopolistic characteristics and the potential to move its market share higher .

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,339
Thanks: 1,893
Fixes: 174
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Slow Speeds and Other Issues

Virgin coverage.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 64.0 (64-bit)