cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reporting faults failing at single threaded speed test results

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Reporting faults failing at single threaded speed test results

First line support need to be educated about single and multi threaded speed tests and the results when they show a problem on our side.  The fact that the BT test shows nothing is stopping them from raising a fault to get connections checked/exchange & cabinet capacity/congestion checked at peek times

 

Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎21-06-2016

Re: Reporting faults failing at single threaded speed test results

Hi Gus,

I work in comms myself, not with Plusnet but with another provider.

The problem with us raising any faults is that there's effectively two tiers 1) raising a line test with Openreach 2) doing a long line test which takes around 24 hours but also there's a broadband test which is separate, now if we raise a test Openreach follow their SLA per your line and can take awhile for them to report back to us.

 

The second test can disrupt your service throughout the day which isn't ideal either way.

If a fault was raised with the line then usually we can see there's an issue prior by checking the quality which is being sent, this could be an issue with the broadband service (bolt on) but again all this follows an SLA, but again I'd suggest raising it as a fault which will jump to a higher level of support techs

The procedure is a nightmare but it's mainly a process set out by Openreach

Highlighted
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,226
Thanks: 398
Fixes: 122
Registered: ‎22-08-2015

Re: Reporting faults failing at single threaded speed test results

Hello @Gus if you complete the BTWholesale speed tester when your throughput is particularly low, and then complete the broadband troubleshooter at http://faults.plus.net our faults team should be able to look into your speed for you.
This is my personal Community Forum account to help out around these parts while I'm at home. If I'm posting from the 1st March 2020, this means I'm off-duty with no access to internal systems.
If this post resolved your issue, please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Reporting faults failing at single threaded speed test results

That's the problem the BT test is multi threaded, it won't show the fault.  Guessing congestion as its only happening at peek hours i.e. 8.30pm too 11pm.  But I already have a thread on this, just flagging up that the BT test is good but it fails to show a specific fault see attached to see the trend

Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017