cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reporting A Line Fault Frustration

Chris12
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 23-10-2013

Reporting A Line Fault Frustration

Hi, I have just signed up with Plusnet but the previously working line is now not working. 
I wanted to simply report the fault like we used to in the old days, but the waiting time is 25 minutes and the only way I could do this is on a mobile which would be expensive.
The other method is using the 'Assistant' which tells me the average response time is 37 hours!!
Please tell me there is an easier way just to let someone know my phone isn't working.  I moved from Sky because I considered them the evil empire, but even they dealt with simple issues quickly.
...and no I'm not a serial complainer.  Roll eyes
8 REPLIES
Apprentice
Grafter
Posts: 614
Registered: 04-11-2008

Re: Reporting A Line Fault Frustration

Can't help with the time for a call to be answered, so have a look at the links re. freephone numbers and phoning from a mobile.
http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/phones/cut-cost-0800-mobiles#buster
http://www.0800buster.co.uk/
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,656
Thanks: 883
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Reporting A Line Fault Frustration

Quote from: Chris1
I wanted to simply report the fault like we used to in the old days, but the waiting time is 25 minutes and the only way I could do this is on a mobile which would be expensive.

If it is a contract mobile it shouldn't be expensive as 0345 numbers are charged at local rate and included in the free landline calls.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Chris12
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 23-10-2013

Re: Reporting A Line Fault Frustration

Quote from: Apprentice
Can't help with the time for a call to be answered, so have a look at the links re. freephone numbers and phoning from a mobile.
http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/phones/cut-cost-0800-mobiles#buster
http://www.0800buster.co.uk/

My problem is really that reporting a Line Fault should be easy.  I was surprised that a query would take as long as 37 hours to be responded to.  But thanks for taking the time to provide the links.  Smiley
Chris12
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 23-10-2013

Re: Reporting A Line Fault Frustration

Quote from: jelv
Quote from: Chris1
I wanted to simply report the fault like we used to in the old days, but the waiting time is 25 minutes and the only way I could do this is on a mobile which would be expensive.

If it is a contract mobile it shouldn't be expensive as 0345 numbers are charged at local rate and included in the free landline calls.

I'm afraid I'm on PAYG.  Embarrassed
In the old days when a phone wasn't working you just dialed 100 and the operator checked it out.  Here in the 21st century it takes 37 hours!  Crazy
Chris12
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 23-10-2013

Re: Reporting A Line Fault Frustration

Managed to get through to Customer Services.  At least the waiting time was less than 25 minutes.  Smiley Phone crocked until as late as Tuesday due to a line fault. At the mercy of Openreach now.  Undecided
Hopefully these are just teething problems as feedback for Plusnet is positive on the whole.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 153
Fixes: 54
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Reporting A Line Fault Frustration

Hi Chris1,
Sorry to hear there's an issue with the service and for the wait trying to get through.
In case you were unaware faults can also be reported online at http://faults.plus.net (obviously assuming there's access to another connection at the time).
I've just had a look at the ticket and can see that a phone fault has been identified and logged with our suppliers so I hope that gets resolved soon for you.
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,267
Thanks: 2,710
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Reporting A Line Fault Frustration

Adam,
The OP raises an interesting question.  In the 'old days' universally one could raise a POTS fault by dialling the 150 automated fault reporting system.  Presumably that goes direct to BTOR who manage the infrastructure?
Even though one pays PN for the phone service rather than BT Retail, it is the same infrastructure, same fault test system from BTOR - therefore can a POTS fault for a PN billed line be reported on 150?  If not, why not?  Such capability would take the stress off PN and place it at the seat of the problem BTOR.
If BT Retail can have this capability whilst other  resellers cannot, the latter are being placed at an unfair disadvantage by BTOR.  Yet another just reason for PN to take a grievance with BTOR to Offcom.
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Reporting A Line Fault Frustration

Quote from: townman
 In the 'old days' universally one could raise a POTS fault by dialling the 150 automated fault reporting system.  Presumably that goes direct to BTOR who manage the infrastructure?

I believe this presumption is erroneous...  150 is the number for BT Retail Sales and 151 is the number for BT Retail Faults.
http://openreachengineer.com/contact-openreach-bt/