cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Portal site is not working

FIXED
martinund
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎18-10-2017

Portal site is not working

portal.plus.net has been giving an error since 9 AM this morning:

Uh oh, we can’t show this page right now.

Please try again later, or the links below will help - you'll get details about what’s going on.

The service status page doesn't mention problems with the Portal, so there aren't any "details about what’s going on".

I was hoping to use it to chase a ticket that's been open for about a fortnight, with no response from you since 27 May.

19 REPLIES 19
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,144
Thanks: 3,415
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Portal site is not working

Just tried and its working for me.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

martinund
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎18-10-2017

Re: Portal site is not working

It's still giving me the same error message, when accessed from Firefox 77.0.1, even after clearing all the history (History | Clear history | all boxes ticked, forever) and after rebooting. I've also run Ccleaner. I've tried browsing both for portal.plus.net and for its IP address 212.159.8.2 or 212.159.9.2. Other sites like www.plus.net and webmail.plus.net are OK.

However Google Chrome Version 83.0.4103.97 can browse to that URL.

At least I have a workaround in Google Chrome.

Weird!

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,144
Thanks: 3,415
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Portal site is not working

Very strange, sounds like a Firefox problem, although I'm also happen to be using Firefox 77.0.1 so its not a general problem. Have you tried Firefox in 'safe mode' to rule out any extensions & add-ons ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

martinund
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎18-10-2017

Re: Portal site is not working

It still happens in Firefox safe mode (three dots, Help, restart with add-ons disabled).

I'm trying to remember when I was last able to access the portal from Firefox. Probably when I raised the ticket that I'm trying to escalate, which was on 22 May. So the version of FF would have been only fractionally older than 77.0.1. I'm not aware of any FF config changes that I've made since then.

Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 31,303
Thanks: 3,881
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Portal site is not working

https://portal.plus.net/ gives an error for me on Firefox 77.0.1.

 

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 105.0.1 (64-bit (64-bit)


jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,206
Thanks: 3,685
Fixes: 136
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Portal site is not working

@Strat Me too on FF, but, @martinund , why not access it from the 'My Account' link at the top of the forum page - it works from there?

John
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 425
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Portal site is not working

https://portal.plus.net/   with Firefox 77.0.1  on Ubuntu 20.04  is showing -

 

Screenshot_2020-06-08 Plusnet Service unavailable.png

Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,206
Thanks: 3,685
Fixes: 136
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Portal site is not working

Exactly, @Nibiru 😉

John
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,580
Thanks: 978
Fixes: 53
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Portal site is not working

I get the same as @Nibiru using MS Edge so it's not just a FF issue.
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 425
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Portal site is not working

I get the same error in Google Chrome (Version 83.0.4103.97)

Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,144
Thanks: 3,415
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Portal site is not working

How very strange! I was going to say maybe its just Firefox on windows but, like me @Nibiru is running Linux, so that theory is out of the window. Still works for me on Firefox, but strangely not on a tablet using Chrome.

edit: now it doesn't work for me on Firefox either, was working when I started typing this but not now. Obviously something was cached or maybe I wasn't using the https  prefix 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,030
Thanks: 3,775
Fixes: 239
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Portal site is not working


@MisterW wrote:

 

...or maybe I wasn't using the https  prefix 


I think this is it.

If you browse to the http address and let it redirect then it seems to work. Explicitly browsing to the https address returns the holding page though.

I'll have somebody look into it (ref: IMT-6039).

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,580
Thanks: 978
Fixes: 53
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Portal site is not working

@bobpullen I can confirm the http address works as expected.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,030
Thanks: 3,775
Fixes: 239
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Portal site is not working

Figured out what's up and I believe there's a fix scheduled for later in the week.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵