cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Misleading Fibre check results

David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Misleading Fibre check results

I just checked my results with PN's Fibre check to see if it had updated for the future date (I can be hopeful!) and the results given were misleading (see attachment).
Unless something is wrong and I actually can get up to 20Mb then it's misleading as I can only get up to 8Mb.  I know technically I can get up to 20Mb but technically I can get up to 1Gb if the hardware was present Tongue  Shouldn't the Fibre checker check if you can get ADSL or ADSL2 and give the appropriate response if you are unable to get Fibre?
5 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,536
Thanks: 252
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Misleading Fibre check results

Hi David W,
As far as I can see there's no problem with that result. The up to 20mb will be referring to ADSL 2 on 21CN.
If you want me to double check at this end then drop me a PM with your username.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,275
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Misleading Fibre check results

I've raised this already.  It's a bit misleading to say "up to 20Mb" when what it's trying to say is ADSL2+ is available, which could be anything up to 20Mb based on distance from exchange etc etc.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Misleading Fibre check results

I've just tried checking mine as well and it also tells me that I can get up to 20Mb - WBC/ADSL2+ hasn't even been scheduled for my exchange.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,297
Thanks: 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: Misleading Fibre check results

I'm on the Hayle exchange:
http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange/WWHAYL
21CN is due next year so it should say up to 8Mb.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,275
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Misleading Fibre check results

oooh.  I hadn't realised that.
I've asked around and we've actually got a problem raised on this right now.    It's not looking at the linechecker correctly.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager