cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Login Failures - follow up to post in service info board

Rix

Login Failures - follow up to post in service info board

There is a post on the service info board about there being login failures due to certain special characters not being accepted in the password field of the new login form.

The post goes on to advise that customers should reset their passwords and avoid these characters.

I am sorry but this is absolutely unacceptable. An "upgrade" or "refresh" should not break existing functionality this is an absolute in application development and only demonstrates a lack of regard to best practice and hence programming discipline, testing and managerial oversight of your development team. As a former developer myself, I am shocked that such an error has been allowed to be propogated into a live system, let alone a customer facing system that irredemiably locks the customer out of their account!

To suggest a password reset, without a reminder of the implications at the very least, is crass beyond belief. The account password is used everywhere. Well not quite, but the consequences of changing it are wide ranging.  Apart from being used to log into the customer account portal, the same password is used for the customer's router login.  Change the password and suddenly no internet - and no access to find an explanation and resolution.  Oops!  Suddenly CS telephones begin to ring [except they don't because you no longer provide 24/7 support, another source of frustration].  Not only is the router locked out until the password is reset but the password is used for the default email account. So now the frustration of finding where to change the password in all the email clients on all your varied devices.  Inconvenient is hardly an adequate description is it?