cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lack of options, FTTPoD price increase harmful, where's the feedback?

Melancholie
Grafter

Lack of options, FTTPoD price increase harmful, where's the feedback?

Hi Plusnet,
I wanted to give you some feedback on a couple of different things. Firstly, the FTTC service is running just fine. The only real change to it has been a loss of speed due to crosstalk and high uptake.
Secondly your parent have cost you some business. Prior to the doubling of the monthly charge on FTTPoD I would've happily paid up to you guys for the install and FTTPoD - I value performance and stability very highly. As it is the price increases to maximise the benefit from the Superconnected Cities voucher scheme have left it an unattractive proposition. It seems to have become a vehicle to collect public sector subsidies rather than a genuine product.
As a Retail operator I'd expect you to be fighting hard to try and ensure you are competitive. You are indeed competitive with the rest of the FTTC crew, however that's a total identikit set up. While your parent group may witter on about choice I couldn't care less about value added services, I'm not especially price sensitive, and my choice is a massive swathe of companies selling the same product from home to the WBC handover points. I can buy the same 'up to' 76Mb delivered over the same network by the same people from over 70 different operators. I mean, so what? Is that a choice?
Can I point out to you guys that in over 12.5 million premises Plusnet are competing with Virgin Media. For the price of an 'up to' 76Mb Plusnet service, average speed around the 50Mb mark, someone can purchase a triple-play from Virgin Media including 100Mb, phone line and a TV package.