cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just got fibre!

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-10-2012

Just got fibre!

Hi peeps,
Just had to let you know that my fibre installation went like a dream!
Danny, from BTO did a fantastic job, nothing was too much trouble to him.
Whole job took about 90 mins and it all worked first time. Land line became live again after an hour or so but, as we use it so little, it wasn't a problem!
Well done PlusNet and BTO! Grin Grin Grin
Geoff,
York.
7 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,396
Thanks: 243
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Just got fibre!

Hi NedLudd,
Thanks for the feedback, glad to hear you're pleased with things! Smiley
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
cagiva
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 01-11-2012

Re: Just got fibre!

Just had fiber broadband with plusnet for a week all went well but the speed is up and down like a "bridal nighty" ranging from 36mg down to 1.5mg, now ok the lower fig is
at peak time but i got that on adsl2 so iam no better of for 2x the cost.
So is it something that will get better or not and if not then no point having it.
Will give it 10 days then i will ring up and ask the question.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,396
Thanks: 243
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Just got fibre!

I can't say whether that would get better I'm afraid. I'm going to advise raising that issue with us anyway as speeds that are fluctuating to such a degree is not normal whether you are in the first 10 days of the service or not.
You can raise that with us online <a href="http://faults.plus.net">here</a> or by calling support on 0800 432 0200.
Adam.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
cagiva
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 01-11-2012

Re: Just got fibre!

Thanks Adam just raise it online now (noted after rebooting the modem and router the seed shot up from 2.6mg to 38mg) don't want to reboot all the time.
cagiva
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 01-11-2012

Re: Just got fibre!

Hi Adam Plusnet had a look at me speed and the modem is all working but the router is looking as the problem so tested the wired and wireless and noted the wireless
is very poor (only 25% of the speed) so i have ordered a new router to see if that helps. 
ffox
Rising Star
Posts: 293
Thanks: 29
Registered: 08-06-2011

Re: Just got fibre!

Quote from: _Adam_Walker_
..... not normal whether you are in the first 10 days of the service or not.....

10 days applies to ADSL. For FTTC it is 2 days.   See here:
http://community.bt.com/t5/BT-Infinity/Ten-day-stabilisation-Home-hub-or-Airport-Extreme/td-p/375507...
and here:
http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/fibre/t/4041754-fttc-dlm.html
This has been public knowledge for over a year now.  Why can't ISP agents grasp the simple fact that Fibre training is not the same as ADSL training?
ADSL is operated by BT Wholesale with DSLAMs at the exchange; FTTC is operated by BT Openreach with DSLAMs in the CAB.  They work differently.
Edit:  Forgot to link to the source. It is BT SIN 498; the latest issue is 4.2 (November 2012) which you can get here:
http://www.sinet.bt.com/index.htm
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Just got fibre!

Hi there,
Just asked some questions around this and our faults team are aware of that, just needs to sink in for us other guys - bear in mind it's been 10 days since ADSL Max came out so it's something we're fairly used to. We'll watch out for it though, sorry about that.