cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DNS servers failing

ramissin
Grafter
Posts: 64
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎14-04-2015

Re: DNS servers failing

So it's standard to receive no notification of this maintenance  ?

Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 527
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎13-04-2013

Re: DNS servers failing

Not having any overnight support now means no official response till the rush hour is over  Sad
I wonder if PN even know yet ?
Even a single post on here from the 24x7 business side would be useful if it is just a PN routing issue.
Let's be careful out there !
JohnBayliss
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-11-2013

Re: DNS servers failing

DNS has been down all night?
I guess all we can do is change our DNS to Google for now
Primary DNS = 8.8.8.8
- Tim
sandjwa1
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎26-11-2014

Re: DNS servers failing

For me it was working from 4:45 (when I got up) to about 5:30.
Funny how email works and Torrent works, just not web browsing.
One of my Open University module's web site opened overnight and I was up early to get started on it.  😞
Azagoth
Grafter
Posts: 634
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: DNS servers failing

Quote from: JohnBayliss
DNS has been down all night?
I guess all we can do is change our DNS to Google for now
Primary DNS = 8.8.8.8
- Tim

See above.  I've already tried that and it changed nothing.  Sites still failed to resolve.
Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 527
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎13-04-2013

Re: DNS servers failing

Quote from: sandjwa1
For me it was working from 4:45 (when I got up) to about 5:30.
Funny how email works and Torrent works, just not web browsing.
One of my Open University module's web site opened overnight and I was up early to get started on it.  😞

Same here, initially worked then failed.
Let's be careful out there !
JASLincs
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎20-08-2015

Some sites load, others don't and show ERR-NAME-RESOLUTION-FAILED

For the past hour or so only some sites eg Yahoo will load whereas others show the error message above.  I have made no changes to any settings .  This applies to any device connected to my broadband connection.
Any ideas why this might be and how to overcome it?
Mayfly
All Star
Posts: 1,506
Thanks: 352
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2009

Re: DNS servers failing

email works here, but out of 10 sites I check every morning I can only get on 3 PN being one of them
grizedale
Grafter
Posts: 54
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎13-11-2007

Re: Some sites load, others don't and show ERR-NAME-RESOLUTION-FAILED

Same here and, image sites such as Pinterest, tumblr not loading images...just noticed poss maintenance issue, will monitor
rogermatthews
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-09-2015

Re: Some sites load, others don't and show ERR-NAME-RESOLUTION-FAILED

me too, using IE. And I tried a virus scan which told me I wasn't connected to the internet, even though my AV let me download updates!
Weird, let's hope it's sorted by the time I get home
pshack78
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎27-11-2013

Re: DNS servers failing

Same as everyone else. Come on Plusnet. This is the 21st century. Surely your supposed to be a modern, progressive technology company....... someone should be on stuff like this 24/7 the minute it happens!
Tigger
Rising Star
Posts: 215
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎12-06-2007

Re: Some sites load, others don't and show ERR-NAME-RESOLUTION-FAILED

And same here, only it started here sometime after 1am. And it's still going.
I can get Facebook, Metcheck and Plusnet - and pick up my email
But not
Google, Daily Mail, Ancestry and most other pages
Mobile as well as laptop
And your website is pants on my mobile! So small, no mobile version!
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,541
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: DNS servers failing

Things are definitely Getting worse    Sad  i suppose we will have to wait until 09.00 until someone realizes there is a problem  Angry
i have Lost half my saved web pages   "Problem Loading Page "   Crazy Crazy Crazy
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
drj
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎30-03-2011

Re: Some sites load, others don't and show ERR-NAME-RESOLUTION-FAILED

Ditto here - can get PlusNet, Facebook, but nothing else.
EDIT 1 - can also get briskoda.net and our private office intranet (from home)
EDIT 2 - I can get Yahoo Finance but not Yahoo
Tigger
Rising Star
Posts: 215
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎12-06-2007

Re: Some sites load, others don't and show ERR-NAME-RESOLUTION-FAILED

And I can't get to your broadband usage graphs, it just defaults to the main support page