cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Customer service please

whysoslow
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 19-05-2009

Customer service please

Could someone at plus net who values customer service please look at the support call I have open please?
My initial request was to see if the speed could be increased from 1800kbps as neighbours get 2500-3000kbps, however during the investigations speed has dropped to about 400kbps.
From initially responding well and being told that something is not right as my sync speed dropped after connecting to the master test socket. I now am being told that poor lines will get worse and I should accept it. They did not read the history of the issue either as told to use the master socket again.  Sad
I think that getting less than half the speed than I have had for the last 3 years, should be regarded as a fault.  Angry
The current line speed from https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed has gone
2000
1250
1000
during the past week.
26 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Customer service please

If you would like the more knowledgeable on the forums to assist - can you provide the current stats from your router - attenuation, noise margin and speeds
The fact that the synch speed dropped after connecting to the master socket could be down to the time of day you connected.
At risk of asking you to do things you have already tried can you post the results when connected to the test socket as shown in this picture as well as your normal connection
whysoslow
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 19-05-2009

Re: Customer service please

This is the router stats when connected to the master test socket.

    Downstream  Upstream   
  SNR Margin  : 5.5  15.0  db
  Line Attenuation  : 62.5  31.0  db
  Data Rate  : 1408  448  kbps
Transmit Statistics    Receive Statistics   
   Transmit total PDUs  5158     Receive total PDUs  4543 
   Transmit total Error Counts  0     Receive total Error Counts  0 
when reconnected with the normal face plate socket.
  Downstream  Upstream   
  SNR Margin  : 5.5  15.0  db
  Line Attenuation  : 62.0  31.5  db
  Data Rate  : 2496  448  kbps
Transmit Statistics    Receive Statistics   
  Transmit total PDUs  2348    Receive total PDUs  2124 
  Transmit total Error Counts  0    Receive total Error Counts  0 
plus net have asked me to use the bt speed tester with bt_test_user but when logged in with this the page is not found (dns lookup?, tried ip too).
oldjim,  I'm in dorset too by the way. thanks
is there a way to find out my router MTU as its set to 0=default.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Customer service please

Heya Smiley
Firstly I'd try using an MTU of 1430.
If you leave things as they are now, ie:
Quote
Data Rate  : 2496  448  kbps

You're IP Profile should pick up in a few days - It's currently set to 1000Kbps.
Hopefully then, you should get back to your old speeds.  But don't touch anything for a few days so everything can stabilise first.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Customer service please

Are you sure those results are the right way round - getting a higher speed not using the test socket is most odd.
Were you using the same filter and cable for both tests
whysoslow
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 19-05-2009

Re: Customer service please

yes I have been connected to the test socket for the last week. took the reading and then just reconnected it all and took another reading.
I have to confess at the weekend I was trying a different router to check it was not my equipment at fault. if I did this a few times would it have artifically lowered the profile?
Shall I reconnect to the master socket again or leave now as James suggests?
any idea why I cant connect to the bt tester using the bt_test_user account?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Customer service please

To connect to the BT tester http://speedtester.bt.com/ the login is your plusnet username@plusdsl.net but frankly that is a waste of time as we know why your speeds are so low.
As a matter of interest I just did a test and the BT result was 163kbps but the Plusnet speed tester gave the usual 2700 - 2800 kbps
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Customer service please

Obviously what happened was that at some time in the last week your router resyched at a lower speed (probably in the late evening or overnight) and the resynch brought it back up.
I would leave it at that and see if the speed holds. Check again in the morning and if it drops over night we will need to consider other options. The problem of course is that your line is so long that you are struggling to achieve and maintain a decent speed
whysoslow
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 19-05-2009

Re: Customer service please

ok thanks,
I used to get just over 2mb, spoke to a neighbour who gets 3mb, but his house is newer and may be on a different circuit I guess. recently though during peak periods its been like using a modem. used to be fine for surfing websites most of the time.
whysoslow
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 19-05-2009

Re: Customer service please

this is the stats this morning.
  Downstream  Upstream   
  SNR Margin  : 5.5  15.0  db
  Line Attenuation  : 60.5  31.0  db
  Data Rate  : 2400  448  kbps
if my understanding of db is correct a drop of 2db is quite a difference. If it goes up again tonight then this would match my symtops of being a lot slower in the evening.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Customer service please

Did you leave the router on overnight as the sync rate has changed so you either did a resync or it did it itself
whysoslow
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 19-05-2009

Re: Customer service please

yes my router was left on all night.
here are tonights readings.
  Downstream  Upstream   
  SNR Margin  : 5.5  15.0  db
  Line Attenuation  : 62.5  31.5  db
  Data Rate  : 2368  448  kbps
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Customer service please

Does your router log give the time of resync overnight.
The reason for asking is that you are clearly losing sync at least once and we need to find when and how often.
Which router do you have
whysoslow
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 19-05-2009

Re: Customer service please

this is the full contents of the log. you will have to ignore the dates as it resets to 2000 when reset. Usually gets updated by ntp i think?. its a powerline router from maplin.
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=221008
I have not managed to find any firmware updates for it.

1/1/2000 2:9:41> Call drop because echo reply not received in time
1/1/2000 2:9:41> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
1/1/2000 2:9:45> MPOA Link Down
1/1/2000 2:10:14> MPOA Link Up
1/1/2000 2:10:24> ppp_ready: ch:804d2544, iface:804506b4
1/1/2000 2:10:24> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
1/1/2000 2:10:24> Accept() fail
1/1/2000 2:10:24> Accept() fail
1/1/2000 12:44:11> Call drop because echo reply not received in time
1/1/2000 12:44:11> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
1/1/2000 12:44:20> MPOA Link Down
1/1/2000 12:44:45> MPOA Link Up
1/1/2000 12:44:48> ppp_ready: ch:804d2544, iface:804506b4
1/1/2000 12:44:48> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
1/1/2000 12:44:48> Accept() fail
1/1/2000 12:44:48> Accept() fail
1/1/2000 21:6:2> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
1/1/2000 21:6:9> ppp_ready: ch:804d2544, iface:804506b4
1/1/2000 21:6:9> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
1/1/2000 21:6:9> Accept() fail
1/1/2000 21:6:9> Accept() fail
whysoslow
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 19-05-2009

Re: Customer service please

In the router settings under advanced adsl it has the following settings.
adsl mode : [Auto Sync-up] plus choice of

  • adsl2+

  • adsl2

  • g.dmt

  • T1.413

  • GLITE


adsl type : [Annext A/I/J/L/M] plus a choice of

  • A

  • I

  • A/L

  • M



on the status page this results in.
Modulation  : G.DMT 
Annex Mode  : ANNEX_A