cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Customer Service agents talking utter [-Censored-]s about BT Hotspot/BT Fon

audigex
Dabbler

Customer Service agents talking utter [-Censored-]s about BT Hotspot/BT Fon

During a conversation with Plusnet support about another issue, I found a customer service/tech support agent who was talking complete nonsense about BT's Hotspot product, to the point that they were confusing the hell out of me, as someone who actually knows the product they were talking about. Considering I'm an IT professional who deals with networking day in day out, I can only imagine how much confusion they must cause non-technical folk who don't have that frame of reference!

For background: Plusnet had managed to not inform my mother in law that the fibre she had ordered wasn't available, so no router turned up but we made no other provision because as far as we were aware her Plusnet would be live from today.

During the conversation, I asked Plusnet what we were meant to do in the meantime. The customer service agent suggested that we sign up for a BT plan for a month. Yes, really.

I pointed out that this would further delay getting my MIL back online, because we'd have to wait for a new MiFi router to arrive. At which point the CS agent told me that *we didn't need one*, and could *just connect to the BT WiFi*. I queried what device (router etc) would be providing the WiFi, and I [-Censored-] you not she told me that "it would just be there in my phone's WiFi list".

After a few minutes I worked out that she was talking about the BT-Fon network, which essentially uses other BT customers' connections to provide the hotspot. I pointed out to her that we don't live near a public hotspot and aren't in range of any neighbours' routers who have this service, yet she absolutely insisted that I just needed to sign up and connect. After spending another 5 minutes trying to explain that this made no sense, she hung up.