cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ADSL2+ capped uploads

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 886
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

ADSL2+ capped uploads

1. I thought all new provisions were supposed to be uncapped. http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/speed_guide/upload_speeds.shtml says otherwise:
Quote
ADSL2+ circuits are provisioned at 448Kb/s by default. Speeds can be uncapped on request using the Help Assistant.

2. Is there a program running to uncap all users who are currently capped?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
12 REPLIES
newagetraveller
Rising Star
Posts: 431
Thanks: 45
Registered: 03-08-2012

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

I don't know whether I'm capped or not for uploads? I'm currently getting 800+kb/s on ADSL2+.
Having never requested uncapping uploads on my line I wonder why I'm not at 448kb/s?
Three mobile, 1,2,3, PAYG. https://www.three.co.uk/Store/SIM/Pay_As_You_Go
TORPC
Grafter
Posts: 5,163
Registered: 08-12-2013

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

I am wondering if It may be due to the date you was connected like the diet of Fibre is ?Huh
Quote
Key
    Line Speed depends on the type of broadband you have:
        Fixed speed: up to 256kb/s
        Max DSL: up to 448kb/s
        Max DSL Premium: up to 832kb/s*
        ADSL2/ADSL2+ Annex A: up to 1.3Mb/s**
        ADSL2+ Annex M: up to 2.5Mb/s***
        Fibre: up to 9.5Mb/s (Plusnet Value, Plusnet Extra if signed up before 14/08/2012, Plusnet Essentials and Business Fibre)
        Fibre: up to 19.5Mb/s (Plusnet Extra if signed up after 14/08/2012, Plusnet Unlimited and Unlimited Business Fibre)

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 886
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

Quote from: newagetraveller
I'm currently getting 800+kb/s on ADSL2+.

Greater than 448 is uncapped.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

Thanks for highlighting that Jelv - that should have been updated when this got changed.
Problem: 79745 has been raised to get this amended.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 886
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

Thanks Chris. What about
Quote from: jelv
2. Is there a program running to uncap all users who are currently capped?

Is there a plan to uncap all those currently capped who would benefit?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,101
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

That's been on going for about 2 years.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 886
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

So the plans you have in place should have a date by which it will be finished. When is that?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,101
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

We've had to stop bulk upgrades for a couple of months due to some stuff out of our control.  Not got a restart point yet, but once we do, we should be able to estimate completion.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,641
Thanks: 754
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-09-2010

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

Would that be another problem caused by too many new customers?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,101
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

No.  Tongue
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

I had to request an upload uncap when I was provisioned on ADSL2 in November 2013, I postulate that the process for manual regrade doesn't automatically include uncapped uploads.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
newagetraveller
Rising Star
Posts: 431
Thanks: 45
Registered: 03-08-2012

Re: ADSL2+ capped uploads

Quote from: jelv
Quote from: newagetraveller
I'm currently getting 800+kb/s on ADSL2+.

Greater than 448 is uncapped.

I wonder if that's because mine wasn't a "new provision"? It was a direct transfer from Madasafish. I'm sure, but can't remember (many years), that my uploads with MAAF were more than 448kb/s from day one and well before BT contaminated them!
Three mobile, 1,2,3, PAYG. https://www.three.co.uk/Store/SIM/Pay_As_You_Go