cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

They don't make 'em like they used to....

For those who know me, I turned 29 recently.  That means that I have been playing computer games for 25 years.  Admittedly, I may not have been very good, but I was playing!  People like to think that, with age, their skills grow.  Their reflexes sharpen, and their tactics become more, errrr..... tactical.  You also look back at the games that you played as a kid- BombJack, Donkey Kong, Wonderboy and so on and think how primitive they look compared to today's ultra-realistic, photomapped 3D games.  You usually had your joystick and one or two buttons.   There was none of this 3D nonsense, and the Playstation was years away. Tomahawks and snakes, it was a simpler time. I recently took a stroll down memory lane, and played some of my old games.  The first up was one of my all time favourites, a game that even now, I view through rose tinted spectacles.  Wonderboy.  A child aged caveman, who skateboarded and ran through the stages throwing tomahawks at wasps, snakes and snails that came towards you.  Your energy (or vitality) slowly eradicated the more you moved, so you needed to keep that topped up with fruit, and in retrospect, it was very, very hard.  Back when I was a kid (good lord), I had this on the Amstrad CPC464, and borrowed it for the Sega Master System.  I must have been some demon possessed wunderkind, because I remember completing it in the arcade in Skegness, where I went each summer with my family, on only two credits.  For you young 'uns, that was twenty pence.  When I played it recently, I changed.  I became a short tempered, shouty, irritable mess.  My jumps just weren't far enough, my energy ran out too quickly (just like in real life) and snails killed me.  Fed up, I looked at other games.  Pacland in particular.  Once again, fond memories of halcyon days gone by, at the seaside.  A similar tale.  My timing was off and I lost interest very qui