cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gibson launch a self-tuning guitar

Being a guitarist myself, I can't help but point this one out. Self-tuning devices have been around for a while, but now I can get it on a Gibson..

Gibson's Powertune system has been in the works for quite awhile, and although there are other axes out there that claim to tune themselves, only a Gibson will do for some. Reportedly, the firm is readying a "new line of instruments" that are equipped with the system, which includes "an additional set of pickups mounted underneath the strings that are used specifically for the tuning process." By using all sorts of digital electronics and fancy algorithms, the equipment is able to automatically tune the strings, but it only activates when users pull out the Master Control Knob. Purportedly, the system can have have all six strings back in tune "within a few seconds," and you can even utilize a number of pre-programmed alternate tunings if that's your bag. 'Course, it's certainly debatable whether the hands-off approach to tuning is worth the extra $899 or so, but it's sure sweet to have the opion. Click on for more pictures. Continue reading Gibson launching self-tuning guitars, rockers rejoice Source: Engadget

Now, would I actually use it? I don't actually know. Tuning is never usually a problem for me as I have 2 good quality, well set up Gibson guitars. Provided the strings are in reasonable nick, they'll hold their tune through a gig with only very minor tweaks. However, I break strings a lot, and how much faff does this add to quick restringing? If I used alternative tunings a lot, perhaps I'd be more convinced. It can take a while to retune a guitar entirely in the dark on a stage with a crowd looking at you. Mind you, isn't that what roadies are for anyway....?

0 Thanks
5 Comments
5 Comments
Be3G
Grafter