cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

the router ~ can it do cat5 and no wireless? ~ I don't want wireless.

siljrath
Interested
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎31-07-2021

the router ~ can it do cat5 and no wireless? ~ I don't want wireless.

the router I'd get with that cheapest deal,

what brand/model is it?

 

can it do cat5 and no wireless?

I don't want wireless.  so, can it be switched off, and used wired only?

4 REPLIES 4
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,640
Thanks: 4,330
Fixes: 346
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: the router ~ can it do cat5 and no wireless? ~ I don't want wireless.

@siljrath   Welcome to the forum 

Its a Sagem 2704n. It has four 10/100 Mbps Ethernet ports compatible with CAT 5 cables. You can switch the wireless off or just leave it on.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,556
Thanks: 6,318
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: the router ~ can it do cat5 and no wireless? ~ I don't want wireless.

it may be a Hub One - I think some new ADSL customers are getting them.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,640
Thanks: 4,330
Fixes: 346
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: the router ~ can it do cat5 and no wireless? ~ I don't want wireless.

@siljrath 

If it’s a Hub one then it’s a  BT Home Hub 5a with modified firmware. These have dual band wireless and four 1000/100/10 Mbps Ethernet ports suitable for your CAT 5 cables. Again you can switch off either one or both Wireless bands should you choose to do so

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 25,932
Thanks: 9,574
Fixes: 1,513
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: the router ~ can it do cat5 and no wireless? ~ I don't want wireless.

@dvorak wrote:
it may be a Hub One - I think some new ADSL customers are getting them.

Aye, we retired the Hub Zero on the 22nd June. We've been sending Hub Ones for ADSL & Fibre connections since then. 

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role within Plusnet.
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet