cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pfSense

matthewleggott
Grafter

pfSense

Going to be setting up another PlusNet account at my Brothers place in the near future on FTTC and using my own pfSense setup, the router that is supplied with PlusNet can it be put into a modem only mode or am I better buying a Vigor 130 or DMZ to my pfSense box.

I've had little experience of FTTC setups as I now know that the Openreach modem is no longer supplied.

Any advice would be gratefully received, anyone else out there using pfSense or their own kind of setup and have any tips and tricks, things to watch for?

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
Baldrick1
Fixes: 417

Re: pfSense

The Plusnet router cannot be set up as a modem. You either need to use it as a modem/router, switch off the wifi and connect your pfsense device in Wireless Access Point mode or get a modem.

If you look on Ebay you will find Huawei HG612s going very cheaply. You need the latest model 3B. These work very well without any setting up or can be unlocked should you wish ( https://kitz.co.uk/routers/hg612unlock.htm ) to allow you to fully monitor your link to the cabinet.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

dvorak
Fixes: 1,483

Moderators Note

This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Anonymous
Not applicable

I've been running pfSense for many years and have tried a lot of different modems with it.

The Vigor130 is the simplest just plug it in and it works solution, however it is expensive and in my experience tends to sync slightly slower than other devices that use a Broadcom chipset, also some people have reported odd problems with random PPP session drops on DrayTek modems and routers since Plusnet changed over to their "New Network" a couple of years ago.