cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

new customer new router unable to connect to freenas

Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-05-2016

new customer new router unable to connect to freenas

just connected a new plusnet router and i am unable to connect to my freenas.  the drive was mapped in win 10 by using \\freenas\name  whenever i try to map the drive with the plusnet router i get can't find drive error.  when i re-connect my sky router i can map the drive instantly

 

can anyone help?

7 REPLIES 7
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,849
Thanks: 849
Fixes: 82
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: new customer new router unable to connect to freenas

How does the freenas box get its IP address? If it is hard coded, is it in the correct range for the Plusnet Hub One to see.

Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-05-2016

Re: new customer new router unable to connect to freenas

not sure how it get its ip.  the ip changes so is not static.  how do i know if it is the correct range for the hub to see?  with the sky hub i can just login and see the ip address and access via a browser.  i can't see the freenas in the plusnet sagemcom hub

Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,849
Thanks: 849
Fixes: 82
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: new customer new router unable to connect to freenas

That does seem to be a common issue with the Hub One (not seeing devices on the network in the router control pages)

 

Could you configure the router to always give the freenas box the same address? See this post here for the router page to use.

 

I don't use the Plusnet router so cannot provide in depth information. As the Plusnet Hub One is internally identical to the BT HH5 type A, any Freenas information for that device may be pertinent. 

 

You may get more help from the Freenas community and ask how BT HH5 users get it to work.

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,295
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 52
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: new customer new router unable to connect to freenas

Are you connecting the NAS via USB or a LAN port?

Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-05-2016

Re: new customer new router unable to connect to freenas

i appreciate the replies.  i am connecting by lan via a network switch to the router

All Star
Posts: 2,018
Thanks: 232
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: new customer new router unable to connect to freenas

Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-05-2016

Re: new customer new router unable to connect to freenas

Solved.  switch off and switch on again. embarassed. thanks again for replies