cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

hub one and hidden ssid

FIXED
idharper
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 10-12-2013

hub one and hidden ssid

Is there anyway to make the SSID on the wirlesss hidden - first rule of security is hide your SSID - cant find this basic option anywhere.

Failing that can anyone recommend an alternate hub which has proper facilities ?

7 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,245
Thanks: 902
Fixes: 101
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: hub one and hidden ssid

Not sure where you got that first rule from but it's very out dated thinking.

Hiding your ssid doesn't achieve anything. A good strong security password and protocol is the best thing.

The ssid can't be hidden with the hub one.
Will Moderate For Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,307
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: hub one and hidden ssid

In my opinion AVM products are excellent (but pricey) - for example: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AVM-FRITZ-Box-3490-Wireless-AC-N-Router-UK-variant/271923471432?_trksid=p2...

(also available from other suppliers)

Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,849
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: hub one and hidden ssid

The Hub One doesn't have a hide SSID feature at this time. 

There are routers on the market that do have the feature. 

Sorry that this wasn't what you were expecting,

NE 

Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
RRM
Grafter
Posts: 37
Thanks: 6
Registered: 25-02-2013

Re: hub one and hidden ssid

Got mine today. Thanks PN. Better connection speed at the moment, 26Mb/s down and 4Mb/s up. Previously 24/3.

 

Real Shame, I have always set this feature also! This adds an extra level of security, if you can't see it easily, you won't try to hack it immediately.

Can this feature be enabled by a firmware update PN?

Would have also liked to add devices via MAC address and fix IP address in DHCP scope and finally change my DNS settings on the boardband connection.

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,144
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: hub one and hidden ssid

Any WiFi monitoring tool will spot a router with no SSID, so very little point in trying to hide it - different thing a few years ago, alas now now.

198kHz
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,215
Thanks: 252
Fixes: 7
Registered: 30-07-2008

Re: hub one and hidden ssid

Trying to hide your SSID (and as Mustrum says it's not really hidden anyway) will IMHO just make you a target.

Better to mingle in the crowd.

Not young enough to know everything
idharper
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 10-12-2013

Re: hub one and hidden ssid

Fix

Guess I have no choice but go with it Sad