Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

asus rt-ac68u help me please ?

warrenhull
Dabbler

asus rt-ac68u help me please ?

Hello Everyone

First post, and I am not a novice, but I am far from being fully competent, ha ha.

I have been using  the Plusnet one supplied modem/router till now, with my fibre installation

I want/need to go vpn, and so looked into it, for a few weeks, and then took the plunge and bought an Asus RT-AC68U.

The idea was to use the Plusnet one as the modem, and plug the Asus in as a wireless router.

Now I am wondering if I have made a mistake !

Something to do with PPPoA, is what I have discovered the Plusnet supposedly uses, and the Asus can't do this, and will only talk PPPoE.

Please tell me I haven't made a big mistake, and the Asus is useless with plusnet.

Can I just connect them via the Lan ?

Or are the speaking different languages ?

I picked up the Asus RT-AC68u today, and have not yet removed packaging, or opened it. Should I just take it back unopened, saying bought wrong one, because I am a divver! 

Or can someone please help me, and tell me how to set it up ?

Thanks

15 REPLIES 15
mharvo
Rising Star
Fixes: 2

Re: asus rt-ac68u help me please ?

if you wanted all in one box, you need asus DSL versions, the RT version will work with the Open Reach BT modem, but not with the current PlusNet Hub 1... there is a new version coming out this month apparently Asus DSL-AC88U

https://www.asus.com/Networking/DSL-AC88U/

https://www.asus.com/Networking/xDSL-Modem-Routers-Products/

Can you not use vpn on the pc...the RT version can be setup with Purevpn do a   search for them and the best are the paid ones but If not and still want a dsl/vdsl modem router you need the DSL version.

warrenhull
Dabbler

Thanks for the advice, but why I want a vpn capable router, is because there are that many devices/electronics in my building connected to the internet, that this is the best way.