cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

briancoat
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-08-2018

Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

I’ve used the above combination for a number of years but I moved house and it won’t connect.

1) if anyone is using same combo please could they confirm to me the modem settings they use or post a link to the correct info? None of this should have changed but I want to be sure.

2) is anyone aware of ISP modem registration issues which can occur when you use the same modem and ISP account in different locations?

3) Other ideas?

Thanks!!

PS I will post a similar notice on kitz forum
13 REPLIES 13
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

Are you sure the move of your service to the new location has all completed (phone and xDSL may not be completed at the same time).

Is the modem syncing but then not authenticating?

Are the tickets on your account relating to the move all showing as completed?

You haven't confirmed that the phone has moved successfully. Did you take your number with you and if not is your new number shown in your account details?

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
briancoat
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-08-2018

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

Thanks Jelv.

PlusNet ran a line test and told me it’s authenticated but not syncing.

They suggested I update my account password and put the new pwd into router, to be sure it is not a pwd issue.

That did not work so I posted on here to tap into the collective wisdom! 🙂


Thanks.
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

Am I going mad? Surely it has to sync before it can even attempt to authenticate?

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
EmilyD
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,959
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 110
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

Hi @briancoat,


I'm sorry that your router will not connect following the house move order and for any inconvenience that this is causing you.

 

Unfortunately it sounds like the advisor that you spoke to has got things a bit wrong as testing the line is showing that the line is syncing, however the router is not authenticated. For reference, the test result is as follows:

 

EA Test Detail
Circuit ID NA Service ID BBEUXXXXXXXX
 
 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 26.9 Mbps
Upstream Speed 7.8 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 993.3
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level No Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-40M Downstream, Interleaving Low - 0.128M-10M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2018-08-20T11:00:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 23.9 Mbps 27.5 Mbps 25.5 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 7.8 Mbps 7.8 Mbps 7.8 Mbps
Up Time 773.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 898.5 Sec
Retrains 0.0 2.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2018-08-23T10:53:53Z 2018-08-23T11:08:53Z
Ingress Code Violation 1 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

 

Do you have any other routers that you can try connecting (e.g. an old Plusnet router or a different third party router) to determine whether this is a problem with the router or if there's something deeper going on?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet


@EmilyD wrote:
Unfortunately it sounds like the advisor that you spoke to has got things a bit wrong as testing the line is showing that the line is syncing, however the router is not authenticated.

"a bit wrong"? I'd not describe being told the exact opposite of what is actually the case a bit wrong!

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

The modem was presumably working before the move so it is strange if it has failed.

Given this is FTTC I'd be suspecting the engineer has messed up in the cabinet and that the sync and authentication failure is from another customers router (probably on a different ISP).

Does dialling 17070 report the correct number?

You could try a co-ordinated check with Plusnet where you power off the router and they rerun the test to see if they now see no sync.

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
briancoat
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-08-2018

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

Oops - I meant the other way round

Sorry! Typing (on phone) in a rush

It is an auth issue, as you say.

Plusnet ran through Userid and pwd with me - all OK

They suggest it’s the router but it was rock solid at old address.

Cabinet is just outside house at new address 🙂 so no need for Zyxel router (old address was 2.5 miles from cabinet).

Thanks, all for the advice.

ED : thanks for the speeds. Cannot wait! 10/.5 at old house.

I’ll try PN router

Still bugging me why a router I’ve used for years on PN won’t work at new address
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

Can you confirm that phone is OK and dialling 17070 returns the correct phone number?

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
briancoat
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-08-2018

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

You could be on the money Jelv.

I do not normally use a landline phone but I dug one out to follow up your idea.

Despite PN saying the line is fine, there is no dial tone at the facia plate or test socket.

The A & B wires are connected OK but of the cabinet we hear nothing ...

I’ve already had 3 (count ‘em, three!) postponed OR jobs before I got this “connected” and I now have my suspicions that it may not yet be hooked up - to me, anyway.
briancoat
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-08-2018

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

I called PN who agree that OR “Engineer” may have connected to wrong port, they are booked to check on Tuesday. Let’s hope we don’t get 3 more last minute cancellations ...
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 15,183
Thanks: 462
Fixes: 126
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

Hi there, I've just checked and everything looks fine with the engineer booking so we'll do our best to check in with you to see how things are after the visit has gone ahead. - Adam 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

Why didn't the very first Plusnet person the OP spoke to ask him to confirm the phone was working?

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
briancoat
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-08-2018

Re: Zyxel SBG 3300 N on plusnet

Good point - nor did anyone I spoke to at plusnet via phone.

It was your suggestion which prompted it Jelv so thanks.

Obvious really. I don’t use a landline so I failed to think of this basic thing.