cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Working: OpenWRT on LinkSys WRT1900AC with BT Huawei Echolife HG612 v3B VDSL Modem

FIXED
AnthillMob
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎16-02-2020

Working: OpenWRT on LinkSys WRT1900AC with BT Huawei Echolife HG612 v3B VDSL Modem

Hi,

I am posting this both as a reminder to myself, and to help anyone else trying to get this, or a similar combination of hardware, to work. 

The hardware I have here is:

  • BT Huawei Echolife HG612 v3B VDSL Modem, using the BT-supplied firmware
  • LinkSys WRT1900AC v1 router, with OpenWRT v19.07

After much trial and error I have a working VDSL configuration. The '/etc/config/network file' looks a lot like this:

config interface 'loopback'
option ifname 'lo'
option proto 'static'
option ipaddr '127.0.0.1'
option netmask '255.0.0.0'

config globals 'globals'
option ula_prefix 'fdd4:d4d9:c42b::/48'

config interface 'lan'
option type 'bridge'
option proto 'static'
list ipaddr '<INTERNAL IP>/<NETMASK>'
option ifname 'eth0'

config interface 'wan'
option delegate '0'
option proto 'pppoe'
option username '<YOUR PLUSNET DSL USERNAME>'
option ipv6 'auto'
option password '<YOUR PLUSNET DSL PASSWORD>'
option ifname 'eth1'

config interface 'wan6'
option proto 'dhcpv6'
option ifname 'eth1'

config switch
option name 'switch0'
option reset '1'
option enable_vlan '1'

config switch_vlan
option device 'switch0'
option vlan '1'
option vid '1'
option ports '5 3 2 1 0'

config switch_vlan
option device 'switch0'
option vlan '2'
option vid '2'
option ports '6 4'

config switch_vlan
option device 'switch0'
option vlan '3'
option ports '6t 4t'
option vid '101'

 

In the GUI the Switch and WAN interface are set up as per the attached images.

 

I will admint to have no clue about whether the switch settings are having any effect, but I can connect to PlusNet VDSL no problem. 

 

2 REPLIES 2
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,801
Thanks: 4,489
Fixes: 1,139
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Working: OpenWRT on LinkSys WRT1900AC with BT Huawei Echolife HG612 v3B VDSL Modem

Fix

Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
AnthillMob
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎16-02-2020

Re: Working: OpenWRT on LinkSys WRT1900AC with BT Huawei Echolife HG612 v3B VDSL Modem

Update:  VLAN ID 101 has been deleted from the Switch configuration, and all is still working.