cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's the cause of "Timeout waiting for PADO packet" errors?

asdfghjkl
Grafter

What's the cause of "Timeout waiting for PADO packet" errors?

I've been using my own ASUS router for a couple of years without any problems.  It has far more CPU power than the one provided by Plusnet and is far more appropriate for a fibre connection in a family home (ie. where computers, mobiles, smart TVs, etc. may be connecting to the internet simultaneously).

Anyway, earlier today the whole internet went down and the system log was showing this error in particular every few minutes.

"Timeout waiting for PADO packet" 

I rebooted the router to no avail.  I unplugged the router for 15 minutes but that didn't resolve the issue.  Unplugged again for an hour, but nope.  

Then I figured I'd get the Plusnet router out of the loft.  Plugged it in and I had to figure out how to use the admin interface and update the password... and... that resolved the problem!

Plugged my ASUS router back in and that was immediately working again too.

So yeah, my question is in the subject line.  What causes the PADO packet errors?  Why did plugging in a different router resolve the problem for both routers?  And, on the off chance this happens again, is there an easier way to fix it?  Plugging in another router is a hassle due to the way I've got the preferred one setup in my home (wires behind wall panels for the sake of tidiness among other things).

4 REPLIES 4
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 12

Re: What's the cause of "Timeout waiting for PADO packet" errors?

strange but since getting a dynamic IP i regularly see this too ?

May 4 00:43:53 WAN Connection: Fail to connect with some issues.
May 4 00:44:09 pppd[536]: Timeout waiting for PADO packets
May 4 00:44:09 pppd[536]: Connected to a0:f3:e4:34:d9:06 via interface vlan3880
May 4 00:44:09 pppd[536]: Connect: ppp0 <--> vlan3880
May 4 00:44:10 pppd[536]: CHAP authentication succeeded