cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What router is supplied to new customers these days?

Malcky
Grafter
Posts: 91
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2015

What router is supplied to new customers these days?

Hi folks,

 

My other half's sister is getting fibre plusnet installed/activated on the 17/1/19 into her new house and she has asked me to set her network up.

 

So, what router is being issued these days to new customers?

And can I do the following on said supplied router:

 

1: Can I disable the wifi on the router?    (I plan on installing seperate wifi access points for better/full house coverage)

2: Can I chose which DNS servers are used?  (I want to use the like of google's DNS addresses -  8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4)

3: Are the LAN ports of the router gigabit speed ports?

 

Thanks

5 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,688
Thanks: 3,334
Fixes: 538
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: What router is supplied to new customers these days?

Hi @Malcky

So, what router is being issued these days to new customers?

The Hub Zero (Sagemcom 2704N) for ADSL, or the Hub One for FTTC.

 

1: Can I disable the wifi on the router?    (I plan on installing seperate wifi access points for better/full house coverage)

Yep.

 

2: Can I chose which DNS servers are used?  (I want to use the like of google's DNS addresses -  8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4)

Not for the Hub One I'm afraid, but you can do for the Hub Zero.

 

3: Are the LAN ports of the router gigabit speed ports?

Unfortunately not, I believe they're 100MB/s.

 

[edit]

I see you've said she's getting fibre, I've crossed out some points I've made as they refer to ADSL.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,311
Thanks: 803
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: What router is supplied to new customers these days?

@Gandalf fyi, The Hub One has gigabit LAN ports.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,688
Thanks: 3,334
Fixes: 538
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: What router is supplied to new customers these days?

I stand corrected. Thanks for the heads up.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,533
Thanks: 2,281
Fixes: 384
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: What router is supplied to new customers these days?


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router 

 


 

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb

If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

My Broadband Ping - PN-Fibre
Malcky
Grafter
Posts: 91
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2015

Re: What router is supplied to new customers these days?

Thanks for all the speedy answers folks.

 

2 out of 3 aint bad I guess.