cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Plusnet router as a dsl modem only

hburgin
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 10-11-2016

Using Plusnet router as a dsl modem only

Can I turn off the router part of my plusnet xjn7gc box? I have been given a Netgear Nighthawk router but it doesn't have a modem build in. If I just disable wifi on the plusnet box and connect it via the supplied ethernet cable to the Nighthawk will it work?

TIA

Harry

8 REPLIES
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 799
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 20
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Using Plusnet router as a dsl modem only

I'm not familiar with the 'xjn7gc' box.   Is that a typo error?

hburgin
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 10-11-2016

Re: Using Plusnet router as a dsl modem only

Not a typo - that's what it says on the label

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 799
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 20
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Using Plusnet router as a dsl modem only

Are you sure that isn't the Wi-Fi network name you have quoted? 

 

eg.  PLUSNET-XJN7GC ?

Which one of these routers shown in the following web page, do you have?  Sagemcom 2704n perhaps?

https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/router-setup-guides/

hburgin
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 10-11-2016

Re: Using Plusnet router as a dsl modem only

Sorry - you are absolutely correct!

The model is in fact a SageMCOM 2704N

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 799
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 20
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Using Plusnet router as a dsl modem only

Unfortunately, the Plusnet 2704n does not support 'bridge' mode.  ie. you cannot disable the routing function.   (The older Plusnet TG582n can be configured into 'bridge' mode with a bit of effort)

 

However, you can still wire your Netgear to the 2704n, but neither of the two options are ideal.

 

option 1 - The 2704n is the main router and the Netgear becomes a simple wireless access point.

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/24104/~/how-do-i-change-my-nighthawk-router-to-ap-mode...

 

option 2 - Connect the Netgear 'router' to the 2704n 'router'.  This configuration is called 'double NAT' and usually not recommended.

Change the IP address of your Netgear router from 192.168.1.1 to say 192.168.0.1.

Configure the Netgear as a 'DHCP client'.

Connect the yellow Internet/WAN port to any LAN port on the 2704n.

 

 

 

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,144
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Using Plusnet router as a dsl modem only

Just a quick add, if its anything like my older Netgear, it will detect the IP clash, and change its range for you.

Or you coud get an openreach modem quite cheaply of the well known auction site or other places.

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 799
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 20
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Using Plusnet router as a dsl modem only

I think hburgin has an ADSL connection, so an openreach fibre modem won't work out of the box.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,144
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Using Plusnet router as a dsl modem only

@bill888 A good point, well made Wink

 

Sorry, missed that one.