cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unstable connect and going to 4g

jackieherbertva
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-07-2021

Unstable connect and going to 4g

I'm fairly new to Plusnet but sadly have had nothing but problems. I'm getting unstable WiFi connection on zoom calls and when I cast to my telly my fitness app. Tonight WiFi is on but my phone isn't getting a connection and using all my data. This is so frustrating, never had any of these issues with my previous supplier. Does anyone have any suggestions?
9 REPLIES 9
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,109
Thanks: 3,636
Fixes: 136
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unstable connect and going to 4g

Welcome to the forums, @jackieherbertva . Which router do you have, and do you use a laptop/desktop, or just wireless devices - which ones?

John
jackieherbertva
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-07-2021

Re: Unstable connect and going to 4g

Hi, I use everything wirelessly. My phone is a Samsung and I normally cast that via a firestick. My laptop is a hp pavilion. The hub says it's a plusnet hub one.
I'm not great at tech, but it's frustrating as I never had this problem previously. Thanks for replying.
jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,109
Thanks: 3,636
Fixes: 136
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unstable connect and going to 4g

Right, so you are on Fibre, not ADSL, and sounds like you still have the router in its default state - which doesn't work very well, especially if you have a mixture of 2.4 and 5GHz devices, which I suspect you do.

I can't find the detailed instructions for sorting this just now - I know they exist, but I was on ADSL with PN, and had no need of them - I'll have a look in the morning, unless anyone beats me to it.

John
jackieherbertva
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-07-2021

Re: Unstable connect and going to 4g

Thank you kindly, it's all a bit alien to me.
Strat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 31,261
Thanks: 3,860
Fixes: 564
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Unstable connect and going to 4g

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from ADSL Broadband to My Router.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 103.0.2 (64-bit (64-bit)


bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,946
Thanks: 3,707
Fixes: 234
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Unstable connect and going to 4g

@jackieherbertva when did you start experiencing these problems, or have you always had them?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

jackieherbertva
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-07-2021

Re: Unstable connect and going to 4g

Hi, it's always happened. I haven't had time to look into it until now, all a bit daunting as I'm not tech savy. I managed to look at the ip address yesterday, most of my stuff is connected via the lower hertz my husbands ipad is on the 5
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8,807
Thanks: 4,015
Fixes: 291
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Unstable connect and going to 4g

@jackieherbertva 

See here for splitting the bands  https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/2-4ghz-and-or-5ghz-best-practice/m-p/1351966#M840

Many use a BT Smarthub 6 as they are much better devices and are available cheaply from auction sites. See here for more info and link to how to set one up.  https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Using-A-BT-Smarthub-An-Update/m-p/1795292#M24601

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,109
Thanks: 3,636
Fixes: 136
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Unstable connect and going to 4g

Thanks for that, @Baldrick1 , I'd forgotten I was supposed to have posted the band-splitting instructions. Embarrassed

John