Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UniFi Security Gateway

maxm4xww
Grafter

UniFi Security Gateway

Hi,

I have recently upgraded to a UniFi Security Gateway but don't feel it is set up to its best potential. I had a few issues getting it working (with a Netgear DM200) which was originally working as a router alongside a Netgear switch. After messing about I got it online and my setup now consists of the following:

Netgear DM200

Unify USG

Cloud Key

Unifi Nano HD AP

I read online about MTU settings and others and wonder if I have everything set up correctly as I *think* some websites and App's on phones (Amazon, National Rail etc) are not working properly but they are fine on 4G.

Does anyone on here have the same hardware? A few pointers would be very useful as I am new to Unify if not to home networking.

Thanks in advance.

8 REPLIES 8
Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

Re: UniFi Security Gateway

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from Fibre Broadband to My Router.

Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Alucidnation
Rising Star

This guy is the goto man for Ubiquiti stuff..

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=crosstalk+solutions

You might have to trawl through but im sure the answer will be in one of those, or a combination of.

Also, your modem should be set with an MTU of 1492 if on fibre.

maxm4xww
Grafter

Thanks, part of the problem is I don't know how to set the MTU!

Alucidnation
Rising Star

Not sure where it is TBH, as the menus in the Ubiquiti stuff have got over complicated.

One reason i don't use their stuff much anymore.

Good luck.

maxm4xww
Grafter

I found it, but it doesn't seem to have done the trick.

There is an initial delay when loading most websites and upload seems slow to respond on speed tests. Download os fine and overall speeds are fine.

The saga continues..
pjhoughton76