cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TG582N as modem or DMZ with Asus RT-AC68U?

ianmanning2016
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-07-2016

TG582N as modem or DMZ with Asus RT-AC68U?

I am switching to Plusnet ADSL this week from Sky, and currently have an Asus RT-AC68U which I use as a DHCP server and gateway on my home LAN. I'll be using a Technicolor TG582N to connect to Plusnet ADSL. I currently have the Asus router set up as a DMZ on my Sky Broadband router. (How) is it possible to do this in the TG582N, or if not what is the best way to configure the TG582N for use with the Asus RT-AC68U (which has much better wireless range and also a very useful Guest SSID facility)?

3 REPLIES
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 799
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 20
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: TG582N as modem or DMZ with Asus RT-AC68U?

Yes, in answer to both your questions.

 

Using TG582n in bridge mode, and configuring your Asus to use PPPoE would be best solution imho.

This thread describes how to configure TG582n into bridge mode.  But success may depend on the version of Plusnet firmware installed on the TG582n. (I have tested this with 8.4.4.J in the past with my TG582n with USB socket)

https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/Using-the-Technicolor-TG582n-in-Bridge-Mode/td-p/901808

http://products.plus-payh.co.uk/firmware/

 

But I vaguely recall reading that simply uploading the 'bridge' template for Zen TG582n, to Plusnet TG582n, is perhaps a better solution.

https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/Trouble-installing-new-router/m-p/1127852

https://support.zen.co.uk/kb/Knowledgebase/Broadband-Uploading-templates-to-a-Technicolor-TG582n-rou...

ianmanning2016
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-07-2016

Re: TG582N as modem or DMZ with Asus RT-AC68U?

Many thanks for the info. I think I'll try uploading the bridge template. Presumably if it goes pear-shaped a pin-hole reset of the TC582N will get me back to where I started (and allow me to connect it to ADSL in non-bridged mode)?

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 799
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 20
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: TG582N as modem or DMZ with Asus RT-AC68U?

yes, pin-hole reset will put everything back to factory defaults.