cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sudden loss of WiFi 2.4 frequency

jclomp
Hooked

Sudden loss of WiFi 2.4 frequency

I have been very happy with the wireless performance of my hub one -- until recently!  Suddenly, I find that devices (several phones, and an internet radio) will not connect unless they are within a few feet of the router -- and not always then.  Sometimes the message is stuck on  "obtaining ip address"  and sometimes it gets as far as "Connected no internet".  Occasionally it connects for a few moments and then reverts to "Connected no internet".  Devices connected to the router by cable or powerline still connect normally -- it's just the wireless that isn't working -- and this is on 2.4 GHz frequency not 5.  I have tried restarting the router and I have turned it off for several minutes and on again, and I have tried disabling the 5Ghz wireless  -- but no improvement.   I am not a techie -- I just want things to function like they used to so I can get on with my work.  Can anything be done to restore the wireless performance, or has the router developed a fault?  Help much appreciated!  

5 REPLIES 5
TheMightyAJ
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Fixes: 126

Re: Sudden loss of WiFi 2.4 frequency

Hi @jclomp,

I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing this issue. Have you tried turning the router off for 30 seconds, then back on again? It also may be worth trying to do a factory reset of the router to see if this resolves the issue.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
briston
Aspiring Pro

There is another thread going on regarding the 5GHz stream. I was directed there but now have been firmly advised not to confuse matters there. I also have problems with the 2.4MHz stream. Speeds less than 2Mbs download and surprisingly nearly double upload. That was about 6 this morning.