cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Second router to extend wifi = slower than a snail, what have I done wrong?!

margin_walker_

Second router to extend wifi = slower than a snail, what have I done wrong?!

I've just moved house, convinced my wife to ditch our Sky 3Mb 'narrowband' and got Plusnet fibre. 72Mbps. All hail Plusnet! However, my new house has 3 floors and the router has to be situated downstairs where the phone connection is. Net result is very poor wi-fi speeds on the top floor and intermittent wi-fi connection on the middle floor. I have no experience of the Plusnet router so I don't know how good its wi-fi performance is.

So I thought I'd use my old Sky SR102 router to extend the wi-fi range and put it on the middle floor, connected to the Plusnet (PN) router downstairs LAN to LAN. It doesn't have a simple 'bridge' mode so I've had to reset and reconfigure it. I've done everything to the best of my knowledge:

scanned local networks and configured the routers to use channels that don't compete with the neighbours
connected the two routers LAN to LAN
turned off dhcp and IPV4/6 on router 2 and given it an IP address outside of that which would be assigned by the PN router
split 2.4 and 5ghz on the PN router with separate SSIDs and channels (because the auto switching made Apple devices very unhappy)
Used the same SSIDs and passwords on both routers
Configured router 2 to use different channels to the PN router

LAN to LAN speeds with router 2 are great. However wi-fi speeds are terrible. Connected to the PN router on the first floor I get around 40Mbps, which is great, and on the top floor it doesn't work even on 2.4Mhz. If I switch on and connect to router 2 I get 1Mps sitting next to it on the first floor, and obviously nothing anywhere else! I know router 2 used to blast a signal through stone walls 3 feet thick in my old house, so although it is old it was quite capable..