cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router/modem configuration failure

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-10-2020

Router/modem configuration failure

I have a new TP Link Archer VR600 modem/router. Every attempt to set it up has failed. TP Link support have been very helpful and have explained the process but it has made no difference. After entering all the details using the browser interface I get an error message and fail to make the connection. Plusnet have just referred me back to TP Link.

Any advice would be welcome.

 

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,378
Thanks: 4,334
Fixes: 1,112
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Router/modem configuration failure


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 29
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Router/modem configuration failure

Do you have normal up to 17mb broadband, or superfast Unlimited Fibre broadband?

 

Using the online emulator, do your menus look like this?

https://emulator.tp-link.com/vr600(EU)2/index.htm 

 

Use a computer and connect by ethernet cable to the VR600. It should work using wifi too.

 

If you have superfast broadband, it should be a case of choosing Quick Setup

Choose region United Kingdom

Choose Plusnet_VDSL

Enter your plusnet account username (eg. myname@plusdsl.net) and password

4plusnet.jpg

Accept the wifi settings presented on screen.

Tplink will then test the internet connection.

 

I presume you carefully unplug the DSL cable from back of working Hub One, and plug it into the DSL port on the VR600?

 

It shouldn't make a difference but what web browser are you using.

 

What version of VR600?   v3 ?

(There are no firmware updates for the v3)

 

Does your plusnet account password contain any strange characters?

 

VR600 could be faulty?

 

 

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-10-2020

Re: Router/modem configuration failure

Hello,

I have standard broadband – ADSL.

Yes, the menus do look like the emulator.

I have not used an Ethernet cable to connect as the locations of the computer and the telephone line make that difficult. However, I have connected multiple times using Wi-Fi.

I followed the quick set up the first time but could not connect.

Advised by TP Link I deleted the connection settings, created a new profile and entered the details manually:

Multiplexing Method: VC-MUX
VPI: 0
VCI: 38

But I still failed to connect.

I have carefully unplugged the DSL cable each time and plugged it into the VR600.

I have tried using Chrome, Opera and Microsoft Edge. The result has been the same with each.

It is version 2.0 of the vr600.

The modem/router could be faulty but I have no way of being sure.

Thanks for your help.

Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 29
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Router/modem configuration failure

When you created a new profile, were you given the option to choose PPPoA or PPPoE ?   Plusnet supports both.

 

PPPoA uses VC-Mux, whereas PPPoE uses LLC for multiplexing method.

 

 

 

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-10-2020

Re: Router/modem configuration failure

Yes. I chose PPPoA,

 

 

Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 29
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Router/modem configuration failure

Did you try PPPoE with LLC ?

 

Daft idea:  Check your current router (Hub One) and confirm it is using G992.5 (ADSL2+), and not G993.2 (VDSL) !   Info should be in Troubleshooting tab.