cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router Restarts Itself

sharon468
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 28-09-2016

Router Restarts Itself

Hello,

 

I was having some problems with the Hub One, kept getting disconnected with some thing, don't know what but was getting annoyed so I purchased the BT Home Hub 5 because I never had a problem with the Hub 4 on ADSL. 

The Homehub has just reset itself, 

01:36:30, 31 Jul. (114326.040000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]
01:36:29, 31 Jul. (114324.650000) CWMP: session completed successfully
01:36:29, 31 Jul. (114324.650000) The system is going DOWN for reboot.
01:36:27, 31 Jul. (114322.990000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
01:36:25, 31 Jul. (114320.940000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
01:36:25, 31 Jul. (114320.940000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '6 CONNECTION REQUEST,4 VALUE CHANGE'
01:36:25, 31 Jul. (114320.690000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 6 CONNECTION REQUEST

 

This is what I could find. 

 

Does anyone know of a fix and if not, can someone show me some routers that I'll be able to use on a Fibre Line.

I was looking at the TP-Link TD-W9970 because it was cheap but Argos said it's for cable connections, I have no idea what I'm looking for.

4 REPLIES
Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,519
Thanks: 429
Fixes: 35
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Router Restarts Itself

How many times has it reset itself? That looks very much like it has applied a firmware upgrade or DLM has made some changes to your line profile.

Have you tried changing the login credentials and connecting again?

In answer to your second question there's a good selection here.

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 801
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 20
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Router Restarts Itself

Check the version of firmware on the Home Hub 5.  I believe BT are in process of rolling out version  4.7.5.1.83.8.236.1.2  to the Home Hub 5 type 'A' (Note there is also a type 'B')

I also observed there has been numerous posts on BT community forum that the new firmware causes the hub to repeatedly reboot.  I noted one user quoted 5 times a day, another quoted every 20 minutes.

 

The TP-link TD-W9970 sold by Argos is FTTC fibre compatible.  Their description quoting the router is for 'Cable Connection' is misleading.  Note the TD-W9970 does not feature 5 GHz wireless or gigabit ethernet ports which the Home Hub 5/Plusnet Hub One offers.

fwiw, TD-W9970 emulator is here

http://www.tp-link.gr/resources/simulator/W9970V1_Emulator/index.htm

If you use 'Quick Setup', choose 'VDSL_Plusnet', and enter your full Plusnet username (eg. myname@plusdsl.net) and corresponding password.

 

 

sharon468
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 28-09-2016

Re: Router Restarts Itself

Have swapped back to the PlusNet router as the BT Home Hub was disconnecting a lot more. Hopefully I'll last to the end of the month so I can buy a new router. Got a nice wee budget of £50
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,030
Thanks: 736
Fixes: 165
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: Router Restarts Itself

Hi @sharon468,

 

Looking at your connection, it doesn't seem to have been dropping excessively:

 

Are you experiencing more drops than this graph is showing?

 
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team