cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router DNS issue (Hub One)

mdwakley
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-01-2020

Router DNS issue (Hub One)

Having searched the forums I know this is an issues that other have had in the past, but there are no recent/active forums so wondered if there is a real fix or people who still get this just use a workaround...

Essentially the issue is that the router's own DNS server (192.168.1.254) stops working. It comes back for a while after restarting the hub but they re-occurs at some point.  This makes internet pretty unusable for DHCP devices.  I can work around the issue on devices that let me easily set a static DNS server (e.g. 8.8.8.8), but this is really easy or practical for mobile phones and even laptops on wifi that I have to connect to other networks with.

As you can see from the output below, the issue really does appear to be with the router itself as PlusNets own DNS servers  (the ones the hub itself uses) are responding correctly.

Router version: Plusnet Hub One | Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.237.2.2

C:\>nslookup www.bbc.co.uk 192.168.1.254
Server: dsldevice.lan
Address: 192.168.1.254

DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
*** Request to dsldevice.lan timed-out

C:\>nslookup www.bbc.co.uk 8.8.8.8
Server: dns.google
Address: 8.8.8.8

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www.bbc.net.uk
Addresses: 212.58.237.254
212.58.233.254
Aliases: www.bbc.co.uk


C:\>nslookup www.bbc.co.uk 212.159.6.10
Server: cdns02.plus.net
Address: 212.159.6.10

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www.bbc.net.uk
Addresses: 212.58.237.254
212.58.233.254
Aliases: www.bbc.co.uk


C:\>nslookup www.bbc.co.uk 212.159.6.9
Server: cdns01.plus.net
Address: 212.159.6.9

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www.bbc.net.uk
Addresses: 212.58.237.254
212.58.233.254
Aliases: www.bbc.co.uk

33 REPLIES 33
Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 20,399
Thanks: 6,916
Fixes: 1,149
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

Hi there, 

Sorry for the delayed response to your post. Your router is on an old firmware version from 2017 so this may be the cause for the problem. I've re-added your router details on to our hardware management platform, can you factory reset the router when you next get a chance by pushing a paperclip into the reset pin hole at the back for 20 seconds?

Let us know how you get on.

[edit]

You should then see your router update to the latest firmware within 48 hours.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
mdwakley
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-01-2020

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

I did the factory reset from the router management page, will that be sufficient to trigger the firmware update?

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 20,399
Thanks: 6,916
Fixes: 1,149
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

Yep it should do. Let us know if your router doesn't grab the newest firmware within 48 hours. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
mdwakley
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-01-2020

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

No change in firmware version...

 

 

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 20,399
Thanks: 6,916
Fixes: 1,149
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

Can you PM me the serial number from the bottom of the router and I'll check this for you tomorrow when I'm back in the office. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,165
Thanks: 2,828
Fixes: 174
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

What's the latest with this one because I'm looking for somebody affected by this issue to help us out with some diagnostics?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 20,399
Thanks: 6,916
Fixes: 1,149
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

@bobpullen Their serial number matches what's in the hardware component and I've asked @mdwakley if they could try a factory reset the old fashioned way using a paper clip. Not had a message back quite yet. 

If that doesn't update the firmware, I had in mind to raise this to you/the products team. 

Would the factory reset through the router interface work in the same way as if it's done physically using the pin hole?

Now I've said it out loud I've got a feeling the answer is yes but would be good to know. Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,165
Thanks: 2,828
Fixes: 174
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

@Gandalf, moot point. The known problem affects all firmware versions. A factory reset via the interface should have the same effect though.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 20,399
Thanks: 6,916
Fixes: 1,149
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

Thanks for the clarification.

Sorry for barking up the wrong tree here. Sad

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
mdwakley
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-01-2020

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

Yes I haven't tried the pin hole factory reset method yet (just inconvenient as I work from home and rely on the broadband all the time).  Should I still do this when I get the chance?  

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 20,399
Thanks: 6,916
Fixes: 1,149
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

Thanks for getting back to us @mdwakley 

Based on @bobpullen's advice, there's probably no point doing another factory reset and this issue isn't specific to one particular firmware version.

I believe it's under investigation and Bob's looking for help in the way of diagnostics to try to get to the bottom of this if you'd have some time.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
mdwakley
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-01-2020

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

Sure I'll help if I can. @bobpullen, you can PM me...
Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 20,399
Thanks: 6,916
Fixes: 1,149
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

Cheers, I've passed this on to @bobpullen via email just in case he's missed the notifications.

I'm sure he'll be in touch when/if he still needs some diagnostic help. Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
LeeB1
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-04-2020

Re: Router DNS issue (Hub One)

Hi I have the same issue I think

 

DNS is either slow or totally broken - many retries needed to get to websites

Sites give DNS error all the time

 

Router reboot helps for a while

 

Please help I am WFH and late for all my Zoom meetings! 

 

Thanks

 

Lee