cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router 2704n problems

Clare041

Router 2704n problems

Hi all,

I am having constant wireless connection issues with the 2704n router. I have been a plusnut customer since 2016 and not had problems before. From searching on the forum I can see it's may need an update or replacing. I am really out of my depth with all the info about how to improve the connection so any help would be very much appreciated! 

I am a teacher working from home and trying to conduct video conferencing with ongoing issues, very frustrating.

Please let me know if more info is required.

Clare 

Tags (3)
6 REPLIES 6
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

Re: Router 2704n problems

Welcome to the forums, @Clare041 . Can you explain in a little more detail what the problems are, and how long they have been happening? BTW, I'm not one of the router 'gurus' on here, but if I can help...

John
Clare041

Hi Jab1,

Thanks for your speedy reply.

It’s the slow speed and dropping on/off of the wireless connection that’s the main problem for me.

I’ve moved the router, turned it on/off and reseted it repeatedly over the last few months. I’ve read on here about firmware updates but not sure if that is applicable. I’m cautious about attempting anything without any help as I don’t want to be without internet.

Thanks in advance.
jab1
Legend

OK Claire. This might be my last comment for tonight - got some other stuff to deal with before tomorrow.😉

If you have the 2704N, you must be on ADSL, which is not that fast unless you are close to the exchange, and if you are remote teaching with all that I understand that involves, you will struggle.

For general guidance, turning the router off/on is not recommended, without following the correct procedure - this will make the automatic equipment in the exchange think you have a problem and it will throttle your speed in an attempt to 'cure' the problem.