cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

FIXED
shark50
Hooked
Posts: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎18-08-2021

Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

Hi,

Had to get a new id for the forum, as I couldn't get the system to send me my old passwd/id combination - didn't post that much anyway.

 

I've been with PlusNet since 2005 😁, fibre since 2009 - no issues.

 

Except for the past few weeks, I'm getting lots of drops on the line, I have had to re-boot the router/modem combo to get back on-line. I used this check, https://www.plus.net/apps/kbdfaults/question but it doesn't really checkt he line IMO

 

I have the Openreach modem and Plusnet 582n router, had them for several years now. I’m assuming these are the probable issue with the connection.

 

If I replace them, what equipment would people recommend?

 

Thanks

jim

 

 

12 REPLIES 12
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,552
Thanks: 6,317
Fixes: 1,459
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
SteveA
Pro
Posts: 1,835
Thanks: 106
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎17-06-2007

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

I'm on an Archer VR600 v2 which seems pretty solid and gave me a significant speed increase over the PN supplied hardware

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,639
Thanks: 4,330
Fixes: 346
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

@shark50 

If you are still in a contract then if a Plusnet staffer comes along I would hope that they would send you a Hub One to replace your two box set up. If they won't play ball then get a BT Smarthub from an auction site, they cost very little. Get the set up instructions from this post. https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Using-A-BT-Smarthub-An-Update/m-p/1795292#M24601

Whether this will solve your drop problem is another matter. What you need is a Plusnet staffer to have a look or post the Radius chart for your connection so that we can see if your network connection is dropping or whether comething else is going on.

 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

kalinowski
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-08-2021

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

I use PFSense but you will need a modem for it to work

shark50
Hooked
Posts: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎18-08-2021

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

shark50
Hooked
Posts: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎18-08-2021

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

Fix

I spoke to PlusNet and they got BT Openreach, to check the line - no issue.

 

Openreach were booked to come out and check the router/modelm setup - failed to appear three times.

 

I bought an Archer VR400, configured it and now back to full to full 60 Mbps speed and n drop outs, as of yet.

 

ValR
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎26-07-2021

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

I have a Hub one, not brilliant speed (tonight it’s 38) but main problem is range. Would a different router give me more range?

kalinowski
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-08-2021

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

Definitely yes, but you also need to take how many devices you have and how far away the router is into account.
shark50
Hooked
Posts: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎18-08-2021

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

I went from mid 30 mbps to 65 mbps, from the old router to the new archer. My line is rated ~75 mbps.

ValR
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎26-07-2021

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

Was it easy to configure? I’m not very technically minded.

shark50
Hooked
Posts: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎18-08-2021

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

Yes, there is an app to configure it. All you need is your I’d and passed.

 

xxx@plusdsl.net and the passed.

ValR
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎26-07-2021

Re: Recommned a router/modem for Fibre Connection

Thanks, I’ll order one.