cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Receiving incorrect Static IP address when using HH5a with Openwrt

FIXED
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎18-11-2020

Receiving incorrect Static IP address when using HH5a with Openwrt

Can anyone suggest and any amendments I can try. I also have the same issue with a Linksys EA4200. 

Rgds

8 REPLIES 8
All Star
Posts: 731
Thanks: 226
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Receiving incorrect Static IP address when using HH5a with Openwrt

Hi @dpritch0862
Are you referring to a WAN static IP address?
If so, taking a guess that you are using the Static option in OpenWRT...
You should be using PPPoE to connect to Plusnet and not the static address option.
When you have a Plusnet static IP, the PN system hands out the same IP address to the router on each PPPoE authentication.
Regards
Richard
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎18-11-2020

Re: Receiving incorrect Static IP address when using HH5a with Openwrt

I am using PPPoE to connect to PN. I receive a WAN IP address but it is not the one allocated to my account.

 

 

All Star
Posts: 731
Thanks: 226
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Receiving incorrect Static IP address when using HH5a with Openwrt

Strange. Iwould be suprised if it is an issue with OpenWRT.
I set my mum up with a static IP and a HH5a running OpenWRT and she gets the correct static IP address.
When I had a static IP my OpenWRT router picked up the correct IP address.
Do you find you receive the correct Static IP when not using an OpenWRT router?


Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎18-11-2020

Re: Receiving incorrect Static IP address when using HH5a with Openwrt

Yes I receive the correct WAN IP if I use the PN router ,a HH5a with BT firmware and a CISCO 887VA. Not sure what to do now as do not want to use the CISCO as it is quite bulky.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20,454
Thanks: 3,812
Fixes: 423
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Receiving incorrect Static IP address when using HH5a with Openwrt

Moderator's note(s):

Thread moved from Fibre Broadband to My Router

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,808
Thanks: 2,378
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Receiving incorrect Static IP address when using HH5a with Openwrt

How are you determining what the IP address is? What is the incorrect IP you're being assigned? Is it always the same?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎18-11-2020

Re: Receiving incorrect Static IP address when using HH5a with Openwrt

The WAN IP is always different. I have also noticed an error massage when trying to connect see capture1.png. Also I get the following message on a webpage see capture.png

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,141
Thanks: 2,227
Fixes: 160
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Receiving incorrect Static IP address when using HH5a with Openwrt

Fix

@dpritch0862  that's the BT wholesale page that you see when the connection can't be made and the BT wholesale system has allocated a default IP address. This is usually due either to a routing issue or an incorrect domain in the user details. Given that you can connect sucessfully using PN Hub one, it would appear it's not a routing issue. It therefore looks like the domain part of the username is not correct. The username is youraccountname@plusdsl.net , the plusdsl.net being the domain in question.