cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: belkin router

FracturedSoul23
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 26-10-2017

Re: belkin router

Hi
Does anyone know if a belkin router f5d8636-4 V2 can be used alongside a plusnet routor? I just got the belkin router from relatives and was wondering if i could use it. If it is allowed, any setup ideas?
5 REPLIES
FracturedSoul23
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 26-10-2017

Re: belkin router

Specs for belkin router f5d8636-4 v2
bmc
Pro
Posts: 433
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 3
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: belkin router

PlusNet use a re-badged BT HH 5a for their fibre services. However, they have always been happy for customers to use their own equipment.

 

If the Belkin router can handle VDSL you should be OK to use it. Settings required can be found on the PlusNet support pages.

 

Brian

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 806
Thanks: 104
Fixes: 20
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: belkin router

If you have ADSL broadband (ie. not fibre) from Plusnet, then you can use the Belkin ADSL modem router.

Here is the manual

http://www.belkin.com/support/dl/pm00781ea-usermanual_uk.pdf

Perhaps start reading from page 29.

Plusnet ADSL broadband settings:

https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/broadband-connection-settings/

 

 

 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,784
Thanks: 1,133
Fixes: 47
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: belkin router

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat) Posts split from an old thread to their own topic for clarity.

Customer and Forum Moderator.
Product of the Tyrell Corporation
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,159
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: belkin router

Hi there and welcome to the community forums.

 

As others have indicated, the router should work but it does depend whether you've got ADSL or Fibre broadband.

From a quick Google search, it seems that the Belkin router you've got is just ADSL compatible.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team