cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet router, some questions before I buy.

i12
Hooked
Posts: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-02-2022

Plusnet router, some questions before I buy.

I'm thinking of buying Plusnet fiber broadband, but is the router any good?

I need to turn off the wifi, also hotspot transmissions if it has it.

If this can be done I'll need the http://192 address please.

 

I have a Tp link N600, would this be better than the Plusnet item?

I'm ok with buying another to get a good result.  

Can someone let me know the configuration information please.

Do I use the Plusnet router for a month before swapping to a better item, or just use the new one from the start?

 

Thank you for your help

 

7 REPLIES 7
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,676
Thanks: 1,264
Fixes: 79
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Plusnet router, some questions before I buy.

@i12 

From what I can see the TP-Link N600 only provides 2.4Ghz wifi signal and requires a modem to connect to xDSL.

The new Plus Net Hub Two is based on the BT Smart Hub 2 which would probably be satisfactory for most users, having both 2.4 and 5 Ghz wifi. The Hub Two can also be used in modem only mode.

All Plus Net Hubs (modem/router) use the network of 192.168.1.0 mask 255.255.255.0 with the management IP being 192.168.1.254

DHCP range is 192.168.1.64 to 192.168.1.253

So I'd give it ago with the Hub Two and see how it goes before spending any money.

Dan.

i12
Hooked
Posts: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-02-2022

Re: Plusnet router, some questions before I buy.

Thank you Dan, at the moment I have a Virgin router in modem mode, and then the TP link.

Well all good if the new router can modem mode Smiley

The virgin router turns hotspot off when in modem mode, would this router be the same?

 

 

 

 

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,676
Thanks: 1,264
Fixes: 79
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Plusnet router, some questions before I buy.

Not having a Hub Two I can not answer that question about the hotspot being turned off, but it would make sense it is as the router functions would not be required in modem only mode.

Dan.

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,900
Thanks: 5,008
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet router, some questions before I buy.

In bridge/modem only mode, the Wi-Fi broadcast of the Hub Two should be disabled.

I'm not sure why you would want to continue using the N600 though as it is significantly inferior from a Wi-Fi perspective.

If you do decide to use the Hub Two in isolation and ditch the TP-Link, then you can disable the Wi-Fi, however there is currently an issue in that regard where it will continue broadcasting the hidden SSIDs that are intended for wireless backhaul.

Plusnet don't offer a public hotspot service so that's not a consideration to worry about.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,320
Thanks: 1,609
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Plusnet router, some questions before I buy.

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from Fibre Broadband to My Router.
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
i12
Hooked
Posts: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-02-2022

Re: Plusnet router, some questions before I buy.

Thank you for that bit of info.

 

Wifi for us is totally unneeded, and over hyped. And no I don't use a mobile phone either Smiley

 

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,900
Thanks: 5,008
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet router, some questions before I buy.

In which case - and assuming you don't mind some 'invisible' Wi-Fi signals being broadcast - then you should be OK to use just the Plusnet Hub Two we will send you. You can disable Wi-Fi via the admin interface at 192.168.1.254 as alluded to by others.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵