cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Hub One vs. BT Home Hub 5

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,882
Thanks: 4,974
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub One vs. BT Home Hub 5

Possibly related to this?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

np123
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎16-07-2020

Re: Plusnet Hub One vs. BT Home Hub 5

Hi Bob,

I do appreciate you responding so quickly. I will try disabling 5Ghz, but as that post was in 2019, and it says it should be fixed in 2020 - is there not a solid fix in place yet?

If this doesn't sort it out, I'll be on the hunt for a new provider. The changeover from BT to Plusnet was very smooth, but although I'm paying less now, I can't have a service that's not suitable for my requirements.

Will keep you posted.

 

Thanks

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,662
Thanks: 5,183
Fixes: 417
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Plusnet Hub One vs. BT Home Hub 5

@np123 

Many of us use a BTSmarthub 6. If you haven't still got one then they are cheap from auction sites such as Ebay. You will probably find it a much cheaper option than paying Plusnet cancellation charges.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

np123
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎16-07-2020

Re: Plusnet Hub One vs. BT Home Hub 5

Hi @Baldrick1 

So if I bought one of these, I just plug it in and it works as normal presumably with new credentials? I've never used a router other than what I was provided with.

 

Thanks!

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,662
Thanks: 5,183
Fixes: 417
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Plusnet Hub One vs. BT Home Hub 5

@np123 

Not quite, the setting instructions are here. https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Using-the-BT-Smarthub-6-on-a-Plusnet-Account/m-p/1587673#M85...

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'