cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Hub One DDNS NO-IP Issue

FIXED
mactell
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎24-07-2017

Plusnet Hub One DDNS NO-IP Issue

 

Hello, 

 

I've noticed my DDNS via No-IP hasn't been updating recently. I've logged onto the router and see the error message; 

Dynamic DNS service status: Connection error - Invalid username

I've logged into No-IP via the Web UI with the username and password and it works fine. I've also re-entered the details into the Hub One and still getting the error? What the hell is going on?! It's been working fine for the past year or so without any issues? 

Plusnet Hub One | Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.237.2.2 | Last updated Unknown
7 REPLIES 7
mactell
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎24-07-2017

Re: Plusnet Hub One DDNS NO-IP Issue

BUMP - still having issues with this...?! 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,102
Thanks: 731
Fixes: 273
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Plusnet Hub One DDNS NO-IP Issue

Sorry to hear you're having issues.

I'm afraid that this isn't something we can directly support but I've asked our Products team to see if there's anything we can do

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub One DDNS NO-IP Issue

The firmware version you're on has been in circulation for well over a year and I'm not aware of any issues with no-ip's DDNS service. In fact, I've used it personally with a Hub One running this build and had zero issues in the past.

I wonder if it's something to do with the routing between you and no-ip.

You can query the no-ip API directly via a web browser by doing this:

http://<your_noip_username>:<your_no_ip_pasword>@dynupdate.no-ip.com/nic/update?hostname=<your_noip_hostname>&myip=<your_ip_address>

Replacing the obvious bits with the relevant information and removing the chevrons.

If the update is successful then you'll see something like:

good 1.2.3.4

Or maybe 'nochg', indicating that there's been no change to your IP.

If you see something suggestive of a problem, or the request times out, then you have a problem somewhere that is highly unlikely to be anything to do with the Hub One.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Marksfish
Pro
Posts: 655
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: Plusnet Hub One DDNS NO-IP Issue

The router doesn't update the dns though does it? I thought it just allowed access to the provider for whatever purpose you are using it for. Is the correct drop down selected? I have noticed recently (I have the desktop updater installed) and even though it is updating, as no-ip have changed their service for free accounts, it no longer extends the lease. This means that even when updated, I still have to manually renew the domain after 30 days as it expires. 

Mark

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20,997
Thanks: 2,989
Fixes: 596
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Plusnet Hub One DDNS NO-IP Issue

the router should publish any change to no-ip.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Marksfish
Pro
Posts: 655
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: Plusnet Hub One DDNS NO-IP Issue

I did not realise that. Every day is a school day Smiley

mactell
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎24-07-2017

Re: Plusnet Hub One DDNS NO-IP Issue

Fix

So weirdly this just started working by itself. I presume it could have been an issue with the No-IP API.