cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New router needed

FIXED
mrunderhill
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

New router needed

Hello,

My router has started disconnecting and reconnecting to the internet every few minutes Sad

I have reverted back to an old Talk Talk router - an HG633 which is staying connected perfectly, but it only has 100Mbps ethernet.

How do I get a replacement?

I'm on Unlimited Fibre Extra.

Many thanks, Jason

14 REPLIES 14
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,633
Thanks: 2,592
Fixes: 80
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New router needed

How long have you been with Plusnet? There is a chance they may provide you with a new Hub1, but it may be a better idea to get a BT HH6 hub off eBay and use that instead - a better unit, and set-up/configuration instructions are on the 'My Router' board.

John
mrunderhill
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: New router needed

Thank you for the reply.

I've been with PN for a few years.  I never received the Plusnet Hub One when I joined, I just used my existing router.

image.png

I have read that the BT HH6 hub is a good idea, because of the wireless issues with the Hub1.

But, I turn off the wifi and use a wireless access point instead.

So I just need a VDSL modem / gigabit router.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,633
Thanks: 2,592
Fixes: 80
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New router needed

OK. I suspect that might mean you would have a problem getting a Hub off Plusnet, but if you go the HH6 route, you might not need the Access point.

PN only supply the Hub1, no other options are available.

John
mrunderhill
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: New router needed

Hub1 would be perfectly acceptable, I would turn off the wireless on the Hub1 and continue to use my own wireless access point.

 

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,633
Thanks: 2,592
Fixes: 80
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New router needed

But the Hub1 would potentially cost you considerably more than a HH6 - unless you could get PN to supply one FOC.

John
mrunderhill
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: New router needed

Ok, I'll see if I can talk to PN about sending me a Hub1.

HH6s (FTTC) are c. £25 on ebay

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,633
Thanks: 2,592
Fixes: 80
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New router needed

And if PN won't send you a Hub1 FOC, they are £99.99.

John
mrunderhill
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: New router needed

WOW!

mrunderhill
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: New router needed

Because I've never had a router PN are sending one FOC. 👍

 

 

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,633
Thanks: 2,592
Fixes: 80
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New router needed

👍 Let us know what firmware version is on the Hub1 when you get it - there is a dodgy one around.

John
Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,756
Thanks: 6,680
Fixes: 1,106
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: New router needed

Thanks for your post @mrunderhill 

I'm glad to see we're sending you a new router free of charge. 

We'd generally only charge for a router if you're not within a contract term, and we'd normally always offer to recontract you so we can send a new router at no cost as it'd likely be cheaper all round with a reduced monthly cost. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
mrunderhill
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: New router needed

I received the hub1 today and the Software version is 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,633
Thanks: 2,592
Fixes: 80
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New router needed

@mrunderhill In that case, I would raise a request for an update - on the appropriate topic.

John
mrunderhill
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: New router needed

Fix

Thank you.

I'll mark this as solved because the answer to my question:

New router needed - How do I get a replacement?

Is phone up and ask for one.