Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New modem but ISP won't let me go online

FIXED
Sesshoudany
Hooked

New modem but ISP won't let me go online

Hi everyone,

I'm a bit of a noob but i've tried everything and nothing seems to work. 

I bought a modem/router asus DSLN66U and it connects to DSL but it won't go online. I tried chaning the HTTP and HTTPS ports as well, nothing.  The message i got at the end was "unable to connect to the internet. Please double check your account data with your ISP or contact asus support" 

So.

Is not a problem of the modem, is a problem of the ISP. What do i have to do to go online?

Please help me out.

Thanks!

13 REPLIES 13
CJT-80
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 4

Re: New modem but ISP won't let me go online

@Sesshoudany

Have you inputted your username and password into the router? 

Kind Regards,

CJT
Sesshoudany
Hooked

Hi, I did.
I connected it to the DSL, I input my user name and password, set up the internet connection, the computer is connected but it won't go on internet. I read around that sometimes the ports are wrong so I tried to change them to 8443, both http and HTTPS , won't let me do that, says I have to duplicate something, can't really remember now. I tried the hard reset, nothing. I'm sure I tried more stuff but nothing seems to work. I downloaded a new version of the firmware with the old modem but when I try to upload the file it says is not recognised.
Baldrick1
Fixes: 415

I understand that port 8443 is used for VPN, so what precisely are you trying to do? If you plug in the router supplied by Plusnet and it works it has to be either that the Asus router is faulty or that you are not entering the settings correctly.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Sesshoudany
Hooked

I don't know, I'm just assuming I'm doing something wrong but you're saying makes sense.