cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New User Mesh Wifi Query

StevePN
Dabbler

New User Mesh Wifi Query

I've recently signed up for Plusnet Fiber, and I'm trying to get ahead of my install so I'm ready to go on the day.

Looking around here, it seems that the router that comes as standard is a little questionable. I've been looking for a VDSL/2 Modem/Router and there seems to be quite a few questionable options there too!

My plan is to use something like BT Mesh Wifi, plug one node into the router, and then run everything (cabeled and wifi) by connecting to the mesh wifi.

I'm kind of new to Mesh wifi, so my query is:

Do I even need a better hub in this instance? If all wifi is going through the mesh wifi, and any cabled connections are plugged into the back of the mesh units, does a different router give me anything or does it just become a dumb box that the internet just passes through?
14 REPLIES 14
Baldrick1
Fixes: 418

Re: New User Mesh Wifi Query

@StevePN  Welcome to the forum.

The BT mesh systems are I believe simply WiFi extenders. The first unit plugs in to the hub and away you go. The standard Plusnet hub one is all you need. You may decide to turn off the wireless on this so that you don’t have two wireless networks running.

Note that many mesh systems from other manufacturers have a built in router. These are really designed for FTTP services rather than the UK’s pathetic FTTC bodge. If you buy one of these you need to either change the hub one for a modem or change  the hub and/or mesh unit settings to get them to connect properly. However these will future proof your investment if FTTP is installed in your area (if ever!).
Be aware that mesh disks have a limited number of Ethernet ports so you may need to install Ethernet switches. The Tp-link ones are cheap and work well.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

smeech