cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Router required

FIXED
NedLudd
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,898
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

New Router required

Hi guys,

 

I have been with PlusNet for 7 or 8 years now and never had a problem until now.

My router is quite old and I would like to have a new one. Questions on the 'Help Assistant' go unanswered. So, how do I go about getting a new, more modern, PlusNet router?

Geoff,
York.
16 REPLIES 16
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,990
Thanks: 2,027
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New Router required

You can only get a 'free' new PN router if you ask at re-contract time, but a better option suggested by many who know more about this subject than me, is to obtain a BT HH6 hub from eBay.

Suggestions and set up for this equipment is on the My Router' board.

John
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,015
Thanks: 2,659
Fixes: 178
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: New Router required

@NedLudd 

If you have a Hub One that works then stick with it unless you want better performance on a budget in which case get a Smarthub 6.

Some of the newer hubs are noisy. There are also people with wireless problems which is being blamed on firmware. However a question I asked many moons ago whether this is related to the firmware having a compatibility problem with the components in the more recent versions has never been definitively answsered.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,990
Thanks: 2,027
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New Router required

@Baldrick1 Seven/eight years old Hub One? Have they been going that long? If so, I apologise, but as I won't allow that - or the Hub0 - anywhere near MY network, I don't really follow its' development.

John
NedLudd
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,898
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

Re: New Router required

Oops sorry, I should have mentioned that I have just recontracted for a further 2 years but a new router was not mentioned.

Geoff,
York.
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,990
Thanks: 2,027
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New Router required

Fix

When did this re-contract happen @NedLudd ? If it was in (I think) the last six months, ring 'em and ask. They don't offer new ones by default these days.

John
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 963
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: New Router required

If you have re-contracted within the last three months they'll still give you one but may ask for the p&p costs.
Ex-Plusnetter now living life in the G,fast lane!
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,990
Thanks: 2,027
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New Router required

Nearly cross-posted @Browni , but thanks for the time-limit reminder.

John
NedLudd
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,898
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

Re: New Router required

I recontracted just over a week ago!

I'll give them a ring on Monday and see what happens.

 

Thanks for all your help peeps!

Geoff,
York.
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 963
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: New Router required

You type faster than me @jab1  😁

I'm pretty sure it's 3 months but on a 2 year contract they could offer one as a good will gesture.

eta Aaargh! Now @NedLudd is typing fast than me!

Ex-Plusnetter now living life in the G,fast lane!
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,015
Thanks: 2,659
Fixes: 178
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: New Router required


@jab1 wrote:

@Baldrick1 Seven/eight years old Hub One? Have they been going that long? If so, I apologise, but as I won't allow that - or the Hub0 - anywhere near MY network, I don't really follow its' development.


The HH 5A was released by BT in 2013. I'm not sure when it was considered obsolete enough to be dumped onto Plusnet but looking back I think that I took up fibre in 2015 and was given an ECI modem (we have a Huawei cabinet despite the installation technician claiming that it was an ECI one) and a Hub Zero, so it must have been after that. This combination did not last long!

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,547
Thanks: 963
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: New Router required

When I joined early 2016 I was supplied with a Hub One.
Ex-Plusnetter now living life in the G,fast lane!
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,990
Thanks: 2,027
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New Router required

@Baldrick1 Told you I didn't follow the life-cycle of that (ahem) new improved replacement for the TG582N 😉

I'm still using my second TG (that PN sent in error) - when that starts causing problems, Ill go looking for something that will still allow some monitoring, so probably not the HH6 as it isn't supported on RouterStats.

@Browni  Thats what my current gear was supposed to be.😁

John
NedLudd
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,898
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

Re: New Router required

Just called in and a new router is on its way for the price of postage!

Geoff,
York.
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,990
Thanks: 2,027
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New Router required

Nice one, Geoff!.🖕

John