cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netgear N150 DGN1000 DOES NOT WORK with Fibre

FIXED
LeeJP77
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 20-02-2017

Netgear N150 DGN1000 DOES NOT WORK with Fibre

I've just signed up to Plusnet Fibre and the hub it came with is, unless I've missed the advanced settings page I was looking for, lacklustre to say the least.

Some of my games require static routes and I used to be able to find which DNS was fastest and change to that etc. Can't do any of that on the plusnet thing.

Previously was on ye olde tinterwebs using a Netgear N150 DGN1000 router.

Does anyone know if there's any way to use the netgear instead of the plusnet hub thing or piggyback the netgear off it?

Failing that, anyone know a not too expensive router I could buy to replace?

Thanks in advance

18 REPLIES
LeeJP77
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 20-02-2017

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

MIGHT have sorted it.
Connected mi netgear to the rubbish plusnet hub (wire from Lan1 on plusnet to Lan1 on netgear) and seemed to work ok but DNS wasn't right so went through all my devices individually changing the DNS to one that's better than default (Used Namebench - google it - it finds the best DNS)
Hoping someone has got a tidier solution cos that was a LOAD of faffing about LOL

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,765
Thanks: 1,050
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

@LeeJP77 - Can't you use this device on its own? It appears to have a a built in modem for ADSL2+. If you're on fibre then there are many options to choose from, with the major concern being how much you're willing to pay for one. If it were me then I'd be inclined to buy a DrayTek, but others will have different opinions.

LeeJP77
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 20-02-2017

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

I tried using it on it's own but I don't know the settings for fibre. I know you have to set it for PPPoE and put your username and password in, after that, I'm a bit lost LOL

When I tried using it instead of the plusnet thingy it couldn't find the internet.

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,765
Thanks: 1,050
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

As you're using fibre then this Netgear won't work, as it's only a ADSL2+ modem not a VDSL (fibre). So you can either use the Plusnet provided one, stick with your current solution or invest in a VDSL compatible modem / router. I think you'll find the ball lying in your court now.

LeeJP77
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 20-02-2017

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

My current solution isn't working as well as I thought it was so need to buy an as cheap as possible (I'm poor LOL) modem / router for fibre that lets you change the DNS and set static routes

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,765
Thanks: 1,050
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

Well, that's easy. Set your budget and see what's on offer for the price, then make your choice based on your needs and maybe any (credible) reviews you can find. By credible I mean, PC magazines, Toms Hardware, etc. not TrustPilot, etc or any of its ilk.

LeeJP77
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 20-02-2017

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

I don't know what I'm looking for though. I tried searching ebay for fibreoptic routers and it came up with nothing. Just looked for daytrek and a load came up but don't know which, if any, work with fibreoptic LOL

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,145
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

Fix

Have a look over on Kitz

LeeJP77
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 20-02-2017

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

Thanks mate, just having a look at the list. MOST are wildly out of my price-range, could stretch to the £40 ones if I decide to live on toast for a month (did it for 2yrs, a month should be fine LOL) ... Shall look closer at that list and look for the cheaper ones on ebay and see if I get a result LOL :-)

They all work with Fibre, yes? And do basic stuff like changing DNS and setting Static routes?

LeeJP77
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 20-02-2017

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,765
Thanks: 1,050
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

Looks like a sensible buy, and it only means three weeks of toast. Wink

LeeJP77
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 20-02-2017

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

Yeah, already started rationing the extravagant things like coffee etc LOL

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,145
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

Quite a few people with that router, its seems to work OK, and a bargain at that price.

LeeJP77
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 20-02-2017

Re: Netgear N150 DGN1000

As long as it does the job (which the piece of turd plusnet thingy I got sent doesn't) ... I'm happy :-D