cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My wifi is broadcasting two different network names at the same time

FIXED
apostle
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 07-09-2017

My wifi is broadcasting two different network names at the same time

My internet speed got slow recently. I did some troubleshooting, the usual stuff: checked the cables, tinkered with the settings, etc. I also used Wifi Analyser to look up the least crowded channel, but then I saw that there's another strong SSID on the same channel:

https://i.imgur.com/Jycd0qk.jpg

Not knowing what it is, I switched to another channel, and the DIRECT-SYSDESKTOP-CP******* followed in the new channel. Obviously it must have originated from my modem.

Since my internet speed is still crawling, I decided to reset the modem. And after that, I saw this:

https://i.imgur.com/Yy3WBPd.jpg

I guess there's no running away from it. But at least my speed is back up to normal now.

So my question is: why is my modem broadcasting another SSID? And is it anything to be worried about?

 

Tags (3)
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,675
Thanks: 412
Fixes: 5
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: My wifi is broadcasting two different network names at the same time

It could possibly be for different channels, my router does this for 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz.

EDIT: I meant frequencies.

apostle
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 07-09-2017

Re: My wifi is broadcasting two different network names at the same time

I really doubt it. I can't connect to it using any known password. And the mystery SSID doesn't match the default SSID even after reset.

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,283
Thanks: 777
Fixes: 46
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: My wifi is broadcasting two different network names at the same time

Fix

Could it be your PC  is acting as a WiFi hotspot?

This link shows how to enable/disable.

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
corringham
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 134
Thanks: 65
Fixes: 1
Registered: 25-09-2015

Re: My wifi is broadcasting two different network names at the same time

It seems a little strange to me that the SSIDs have different signal strengths if they are originating from the same device. I run multiple SSIDs and they all have the same signal strength.

Do you by any chance have a smart TV or a wi-fi accessible printer that allows you to connect directly without using a network?

 

Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,564
Thanks: 669
Fixes: 52
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: My wifi is broadcasting two different network names at the same time

You don't say what router you have. It's not one that provides a guest network is it?

apostle
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 07-09-2017

Re: My wifi is broadcasting two different network names at the same time

 

Could it be your PC  is acting as a WiFi hotspot?

This link shows how to enable/disable.

 

You might be on to something here. I checked the PC settings and the SSID is exactly the same as the 'mystery' one! But I've never ever used my PC as a mobile hotspot before. Just to be safe, I disabled the adapter alogether.

And now the 'mystery' SSID is gone! Thank you so much! CheesyCheesyCheesy

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,283
Thanks: 777
Fixes: 46
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: My wifi is broadcasting two different network names at the same time

Glad to be of help Smiley
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy