cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is the new router any good for upnp?

weirdgeordie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-10-2015

Is the new router any good for upnp?

How is the new router for upnp and online gaming? Also, what's the wi-fi performance like?

 

If anyone who's recently got one, I'd be really grateful for your opinion on it. I've got the old technicolour on a fibre connection.

 

Any help would be very gratefully received :-)

 

Cheers,

James.

6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?

Bearing in mind you are talking Fibre, are you talking about the Hub One, the all in one Modem & Router? Or are you talking about the 2704n configured as a Router. If the latter, I would stick with the TG582n but make sure you have the WANDownSpoofing fix if you have the latest firmware.

@bobpullen might be able to tell you about the Hub One uPnP and Gaming.

weirdgeordie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-10-2015

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?

Oh, sorry, I should have said which router I meant! - Yes, the Hub One is what I'm eyeing up.

 

And thanks for the heads up about the bug on the 582n (Yes I am on the latest firmware, so I need to look at that ASAP)

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?

It's identical to the BT HH5A but with Plusnet skinning and no BT Wifi. @dvorak also has one and maybe can offer some comment.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,811
Thanks: 1,991
Fixes: 256
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?

I've had no issues with online gaming, got a PS4 and it has been fine, i've plugged it in directly to the router.

wifi performance is fine in terms of signal, I had to split the 2.4/5GHz networks due to compatibility issues with one of the macs.

Only other issue I've had with it is getting it to play nicely with UDP VPNs.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,474
Thanks: 1,197
Fixes: 95
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?


Anotherone wrote:

@bobpullen might be able to tell you about the Hub One uPnP and Gaming.


I'm not an avid online gamer, but UPnP worked fine with the devices/applications that used it when I was using a Hub One.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

weirdgeordie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-10-2015

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?

Thanks everyone for replying, that's really useful because I was going to buy a BT Hub v5 on eBay cheap, so it sounds like it'll do what I'm after.

 

 

 

Thanks all :-)