cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is the new router any good for upnp?

weirdgeordie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 11-10-2015

Is the new router any good for upnp?

How is the new router for upnp and online gaming? Also, what's the wi-fi performance like?

 

If anyone who's recently got one, I'd be really grateful for your opinion on it. I've got the old technicolour on a fibre connection.

 

Any help would be very gratefully received :-)

 

Cheers,

James.

6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?

Bearing in mind you are talking Fibre, are you talking about the Hub One, the all in one Modem & Router? Or are you talking about the 2704n configured as a Router. If the latter, I would stick with the TG582n but make sure you have the WANDownSpoofing fix if you have the latest firmware.

@bobpullen might be able to tell you about the Hub One uPnP and Gaming.

weirdgeordie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 11-10-2015

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?

Oh, sorry, I should have said which router I meant! - Yes, the Hub One is what I'm eyeing up.

 

And thanks for the heads up about the bug on the 582n (Yes I am on the latest firmware, so I need to look at that ASAP)

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?

It's identical to the BT HH5A but with Plusnet skinning and no BT Wifi. @dvorak also has one and maybe can offer some comment.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,249
Thanks: 904
Fixes: 104
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?

I've had no issues with online gaming, got a PS4 and it has been fine, i've plugged it in directly to the router.

wifi performance is fine in terms of signal, I had to split the 2.4/5GHz networks due to compatibility issues with one of the macs.

Only other issue I've had with it is getting it to play nicely with UDP VPNs.
Will Moderate For Thanks
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,857
Thanks: 675
Fixes: 65
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?


Anotherone wrote:

@bobpullen might be able to tell you about the Hub One uPnP and Gaming.


I'm not an avid online gamer, but UPnP worked fine with the devices/applications that used it when I was using a Hub One.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

weirdgeordie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 11-10-2015

Re: Is the new router any good for upnp?

Thanks everyone for replying, that's really useful because I was going to buy a BT Hub v5 on eBay cheap, so it sounds like it'll do what I'm after.

 

 

 

Thanks all :-)