cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

Gel
Pro
Posts: 1,387
Thanks: 133
Fixes: 10
Registered: 02-08-2007

HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

Recently sold my HubOne as many do looking at the e bay listings.
Before mailing I powered up & pressed reset button to clear any settings for my account that PN had loaded.

However, buyer's been unable to set his own address/ p'word and PN support have had no suggestions for him either; any clues?

14 REPLIES
Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,522
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 35
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

Click disconnect to allow entry of username/password?
I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,286
Thanks: 446
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

@Gel you need to get the Hub one removed from your account. That will stop it doing an auto setup, assuming the new user has a PN connection. Then proceed as @Browni says.

 

NB you'll probably need one of the PN forum help team to remove it from your account, I would hazard a guess that it's not something the normal CSC would know about.

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 809
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 21
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

@Gel, further to @MisterW 's suggestion you can disable automatic hardware setup yourself.

Log into Member's Centre.

Go to Connection Settings -> Automatic Hardware-setup

This should prevent your username being sent to the hub.

In addition to Browni's advice, I wonder if the buyer remembered to add '@plusdsl' to the end of their username.

 

An alternative method which usually works with Home Hubs, is to unplug the DSL cable and then power up the Hub One.  It should then be possible to edit the username and password.   Save and reboot the hub and confirm the new settings were not lost. If the settings were lost, a valid realm has probably not been corrected entered or has been omitted (eg username@plusdsl.net)  Then reconnect the DSL cable.

While DSL cable is disconnected, off the top of my head, I think I had to edit the username and password here in the Advanced menu, but I could be wrong:

Adv.Settings-Broadband-Internet.jpg

 

 

Gel
Pro
Posts: 1,387
Thanks: 133
Fixes: 10
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

Thanks for replies all; I'm no longer a PN customer so can't access Member Centre,
but presumably someone from PN could initiate?

As buyer has a PN e mail address assume he'll know correct settings for router he's using.

I was able to enter a different e mail address & p/word on the HubOne when I switched provider,
but as I expected it wouldn't accept; had therefore assumed a new PN user name & p/word would have
worked, but it may be the auto settings automatically populated again with my name/p'word.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,160
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

As your account is closed [iirc I did this myself], the router component would be destroyed and along with it the automatic router setup but I'll confirm this tomorrow when I'm back in the office.

 

Click disconnect to allow entry of username/password?

Have they tried this? That should work irregardless of the automatic setup system.

 

I'm no longer a PN customer so can't access Member Centre

Whilst I can't confirm this, you should be able to login to the Member Centre still, as recently we've not been automatically removing portal access upon closure of accounts.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Gel
Pro
Posts: 1,387
Thanks: 133
Fixes: 10
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

Thanks Anoush, and you're right about Member Centre access, but now I only see a very paired down list of options.

Member.JPG

I now have router back in my possession Sad

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,160
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

That does look quite bare. The portal login is possibly only retained so people can view their invoices/final bills.

It’s very likely the router component is destroyed, unlinking the router from the automatic setup but I’ll confirm tomorrow.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,160
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

Yep, there's no components showing on the account.

 

Are you able to change the username by clicking on disconnect?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Gel
Pro
Posts: 1,387
Thanks: 133
Fixes: 10
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,160
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

It'd prove that you're able to change the username even if it won't actually connect with your details.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Gel
Pro
Posts: 1,387
Thanks: 133
Fixes: 10
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

Gel
Pro
Posts: 1,387
Thanks: 133
Fixes: 10
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

Took me a little effort to open webpage for the router but see screenshot.

I think the buyer of my Hub must have been entering some incorrect data as set up

screen's seems ready to go when correct user info input.

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,160
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id

That's good to hear.

 

Back on eBay and second time lucky?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Gel
Pro
Posts: 1,387
Thanks: 133
Fixes: 10
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: HubOne sold but buyer can't change user name/p'word to his PlusNet id