cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub One can't see NAS Drive

FIXED
HolyMoley
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2019

Hub One can't see NAS Drive

Hi Good folks.

I have a NAS Drive connected by Ethernet to my ADSL router and have mapped a drive successfully on my laptop with a wireless link to the old router, through said router to specific folders on the NAS Drive.

 

Here's the issue:

I have just moved over to FTTC and received a new Hub One and transferred all Ethernet Cables to the new router.

All is working fine....expect that I can no longer reach my mapped files through the new PlusNet Hub One.

I can power up the old router and reconnect the NAS ethernet and I can reach the desired files no problem (after selecting the appropriate wireless network obviously).

 

Reconnecting the NAS Ethernet to the new Hub One and the files are unreachable.

I have spoken to PlusNet Tech Support and they have no clue whatsoever.

 

Can anyone here explain why I can:

a) no longer reach my old mapped drive files

b) not able to map a new drive to the NAS drive as the laptop is unable to see the NAS via the Hub One, even though it can see it as a device on the list of  Ethernet Connected devices.

Hope someone can help....TIA

17 REPLIES 17
Champnet
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,072
Thanks: 306
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

Fix

Check the ip network. One router maybe 192.168.0 and the other 192.168.1

If the NAS has a fixed ip then the old router will see it but not the new one.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,539
Thanks: 2,529
Fixes: 337
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

Moderators Note
This topic has been moved from Fibre Broadband to My Router.

 

 

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 70.0.1 (64-bit)

Life is tough enough without adding Linux into the mix.
HolyMoley
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2019

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

Thanks but the NAS folders are not mapped on the laptop using IP address, it/they are mapped using \\Server\share

IP addresses do not come into it.

 

Champnet
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,072
Thanks: 306
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

Not the folders, the device. The NAS must have an IP address either assigned manually or automatic through DHCP. Connect router that can see the NAS and ping ‘server name’ this will give you the IP address. Compare the first three blocks of numbers with those on both routers.

Baldrick1
Hero
Posts: 3,491
Thanks: 1,515
Fixes: 94
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

@HolyMoley 

Just to be clear, are you saying that if you use a computer to access your router’s network devices page you can see that the NAS drive has been allocated or has a fixed IP address in the 192.168.1.1-253 range? 

Highlighted
HolyMoley
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2019

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

Thanks for the tips, which I'll kep for future ref.

The problem was resolved simply by removing the latest W10 update and a couple of reboots.

I can relax now...Thanks everyone.

markhawkin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 320
Thanks: 38
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎17-07-2016

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

What sort of NAS is it ?

If relatively recent access shouldn't have been broken by Windows updates.

Having said that, I've found fixed IP addresses for NAS type devices more reliable.

I've some old LAN Disks which only support the original (insecure) SMB and now don't work with Windows but I've retired them.

 

I am the satisfied customer....
HolyMoley
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2019

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

It's a Synology. I don't recall setting it up with fixed IP.
I'll check when back home in 10 days.
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,072
Thanks: 2,309
Fixes: 45
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

@HolyMoley IP Addresses do come in to it as Server has to point to an IP address on your LAN. Also, it may be that due to the fact that you're using a Hub One your Synology doesn't care for the version of SMB supported by the Hub One which if memory serves right is v1.

On my Synology (a RS815+) the minimum version of SMB support I have is v2.

Synology-SMB.png

Champnet
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,072
Thanks: 306
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

Interesting, my 918+ and 216j does allow the options of smb1 smb2 & smb3.

Community Veteran
Posts: 7,072
Thanks: 2,309
Fixes: 45
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

@Champnet I'm running DSM 6.2.2-24922 Update 2 what version do you have?

Champnet
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,072
Thanks: 306
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

Info Center says : DSM 6.2.2-24922 Update 2 on both

Community Veteran
Posts: 7,072
Thanks: 2,309
Fixes: 45
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

I guess it must be down to the hardware then. My one is a rack mount (with an RX418 expansion), that’s all I can think of.

Champnet
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,072
Thanks: 306
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Hub One can't see NAS Drive

Looking at your pic what are the minimum options ?

i have 1 2 & 3 which gives max 1, 2 & 3. Selecting min 2 gives max option 2 & 3

it would be interesting to see what settings @HolyMoley has on his/her box.